GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1987 SESSION RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 24 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 778

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE BICENTENNIAL OF THE TOWN OF MURFREESBORO, NORTH CAROLINA, AND THE MEMORY OF ITS FOUNDERS.

Whereas, January 7, 1987, was the bicentennial of the incorporation of the Town of Murfreesboro: and

Whereas, great contributions were made to that town by its founders; and

Whereas, the Town of Murfreesboro was named for Colonel William Hardee Murfree, who donated the original tract of land for the establishment of the town; and

Whereas, Murfreesboro has been the home of many educational institutions, including: Wesleyan Female College, Hertford Academy and presently Chowan College; and

Whereas, Murfreesboro has also been home for many great people including: Colonel William Hardee Murfree, Chief Justice of the N. C. Supreme Court W.N.H. Smith, Dr. Walter Reed, Jessie J. Yeates, John Hill Wheeler, Dr. Godwin Cotton Moore and John Wheeler Moore; and

Whereas, Murfreesboro is known for its contributions to industry, agriculture, education, and for its historical significance; and

Whereas, the people of Murfreesboro, are honest, hard-working, and loyal citizens;

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

Section 1. The General Assembly honors the bicentennial of the founding of the Town of Murfreesboro, and honors the memories of its founders.

Sec. 2. The Secretary of State shall send a certified copy of this resolution to the Town Clerk of the Town of Murfreesboro.

Sec. 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 19th day of May, 1987.

> Robert B. Jordan III President of the Senate

Liston B. Ramsey Speaker of the House of Representatives