GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1987 SESSION RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 5 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 119

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF A CENTURY AGO OF TODAY'S NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY.

Whereas, the people of North Carolina are deeply indebted to the North Carolina General Assembly of 1887, and other leaders of a century and more ago whose great vision created on March 7, 1887, the North Carolina College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts, now North Carolina State University; and

Whereas, Senator Justin Morrill of Vermont authored the famed "Land-Grant Act", passed by the United States Congress in 1862, providing for the establishment of a

college in each state to be supported by an endowment of federal lands; and

Whereas, Colonel Leonidas Polk, founder and editor of the Progressive Farmer, organized the farmers of this State to support the founding of an agricultural

college on the model of the then-existing land-grant colleges of the nation; and

Whereas, the Watauga Club of Raleigh, composed of visionary young men, Editors Walter Hines Page and Josephus Daniels, William J. Peele, Arthur Winslow, Dr. Charles W. Dabney, and others, sought the economic advancement of North Carolina through technological education and pursued the establishment of an industrial school by the General Assembly; and

Whereas, Augustus Leazar, a member of the State Board of Agriculture, Thomas Dixon, Jr., and Henry E. Fries, all members of the House of Representatives; and Senators Robert W. Winston, Willis R. Williams, John Gatling, Sydenham B. Alexander and others, were champions of founding the new college in their respective branches of

the General Assembly; and

Whereas, legislation in 1885 for founding the industrial school was amended in the 1887 Session to embody the broader concept of the federal Morrill (Land-Grant) Act; to provide liberal and practical education for the industrial classes in the several pursuits and professions of life (the fundamental idea of "democratic opportunity" for higher education), and to teach scientific and classical studies and such branches of learning as are related to agricultural and mechanic arts; and

Whereas, R. Stanhope Pullen, a leading citizen of Raleigh, made a generous gift of sixty acres of farm land west of the Capital City as the site for the new college;

and

Whereas, North Carolina State University, its alumni around the world, and its friends and supporters near and far, are celebrating a century of dedicated service by the University to the advancement of knowledge, the economic progress of North Carolina,

and the welfare and interests of the people of this State and of mankind; and

Whereas, the University today represents a billion dollar investment; has awarded some 88,000 degrees, operates statewide Agriculture Extension and Research Services, is ranked among the top thirty doctoral-research universities in the nation; offers excellent undergraduate and graduate education in more than one hundred fields of study, including new fields in the forefront of scientific and technological progress today; serves the interests of the nation and world in various international projects; and provides educational opportunity for some 24,000 students annually;

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

Section 1. The North Carolina General Assembly recognizes and honors the founders of North Carolina State University for their vision, commends the University for its contributions to North Carolina and its people, extends congratulations on the institution's Centennial Celebration, and looks forward to a second century of service by the University in behalf of the people of North Carolina and the nation.

Sec. 2. The Secretary of State shall send a certified copy of this resolution to Bruce R. Poulton, the tenth Chancellor of North Carolina State University.

Sec. 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 11th day of March, 1987.

> Robert B. Jordan III President of the Senate

Liston B. Ramsey Speaker of the House of Representatives