GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1989

Η

HOUSE BILL 129

Short Title: Siler City Election Changes.

(Local)

1

Sponsors: Representatives Hackney and Barnes.

Referred to: Government.

February 1, 1989

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT EXPANDING THE SILER CITY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AND
3	CHANGING THE METHOD BY WHICH THE BOARD IS ELECTED.
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
5	Section 1. Chapter 860 of the Session Laws of 1963 is repealed.
6	Sec. 2. Chapter 88 of the Private Laws of 1887, being the Charter of the
7	Town of Siler City, is amended by rewriting Sections 3, 4 and 5 to read as follows:
8	"Sec. 3. Beginning with the 1989 election the Town of Siler City shall be governed
9	by a mayor and seven commissioners elected in the manner provided in Section 4 of this
10	act.
11	Sec. 4. (a) The mayor shall be elected by all the voters of the town every two
12	years. The mayor pro tem shall be chosen in the manner provided by State law.
13	(b) One commissioner shall be elected from each of the five districts described in
14	subsection (e) of this section. Only voters residing in a district shall vote for the
15	commissioner from that district. The other two commissioners shall be elected by all
16	the voters of the town.
17	(c) Elections shall be according to the nonpartisan plurality method and shall be
18	held at the time provided by State law.
19	(d) Except as provided in Section 5 of this act, commissioners shall be elected for
20	four-year terms.
21	(e) The five election Districts are:
22	District 1 – The northeastern portion of the town included within the following line
23	running counterclockwise from its beginning at the intersection of Siler Mill Road with
24	the northern boundary of the town limits to its ending at the intersection of U.S. Route

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

64A with the eastern town limits: Southwest and south on Siler Mill Road to Fifth 1 2 Street, west on Fifth Street to Fourth Avenue, south on Fourth Avenue two blocks to 3 Third Street, east on Third Street two blocks to Sixth Avenue, south on Sixth Avenue to 4 Raleigh Street, east on Raleigh Street to U.S. Route 64A, east on 64A to the town limits 5 on the eastern side of the town. 6 District 2 – The north central portion of the town included within the following line 7 running counterclockwise from its beginning at the intersection of North Chatham 8 Avenue with the northern town limits to its ending at the intersection of Siler Mill Road 9 with the northern town limits: Southeast on North Chatham Avenue to Sixth Street, 10 west on Sixth Street two blocks to Dogwood Avenue, south on Dogwood Avenue one block to Fifth Street, east on Fifth Street three blocks to Second Avenue, south on 11 12 Second Avenue one block to Fourth Street, east on Fourth Street three blocks to Fourth 13 Avenue, north on Fourth Avenue one block to Fifth Street, east on Fifth Street to Siler 14 Mill Road, north on Siler Mill Road to the northern town limits. 15 District 3 – The northwestern portion of the town included within the following line 16 running counterclockwise from its beginning at the intersection of Second Street (U.S. 17 Route 64) with the western town limits to its ending at the intersection of North 18 Chatham Avenue with the northern town limits: East on Second Street to Second 19 Avenue, north on Second Avenue three blocks to Fifth Street, west on Fifth Street three 20 blocks to Dogwood Avenue, north on Dogwood Avenue one block to Sixth Street, east 21 on Sixth Street two blocks to North Chatham Avenue, north on North Chatham Avenue 22 to the northern town limits. 23 District 4 – The southwestern and south central portion of the town included within the following line running counterclockwise from its beginning at the intersection of 24 25 Second Avenue with the southern town limits to its ending at the intersection of Second 26 Street (U.S. Route 64) with the western town limits: Northwest on Second Avenue to 27 Second Street, west on Second Street to the western town limits. 28 District 5 – The southeastern portion of the town included within the following line 29 running counterclockwise from the intersection of U.S. Route 64A with the eastern

29 running counterclockwise from the intersection of U.S. Route 64A with the eastern 30 town limits to the intersection of Second Avenue with the southern town limits: West 31 on U.S. Route 64A to Raleigh Street, southwest on Raleigh Street to Sixth Avenue, 32 north on Sixth Avenue to Third Street, west on Third Street two blocks to Fourth 33 Avenue, north on Fourth Avenue one block to Fourth Street, west on Fourth Street three 34 blocks to Second Avenue, southeast on Second Avenue to the southern town limits.

Sec. 5. (a) At the regularly scheduled election in 1989 one commissioner shall be elected by the voters of District 1 for a four-year term, one commissioner shall be elected by the voters of District 2 for a two-year term, one commissioner shall be elected by the voters of District 5 for a four-year term, and one commissioner shall be elected by the voters of the entire town for a four-year term.

40 (b) As terms expire for the commissioners elected in 1987 and 1989, successors 41 shall be elected for four-year terms. Accordingly, in 1991 and every four years 42 thereafter four commissioners shall be elected, one each from Districts 2, 3 and 4 and 43 one at-large. In 1993 and every four years thereafter three commissioners shall be 44 elected, one each from Districts 1 and 5 and one at-large."

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

Sec. 3. The present commissioners are designated as commissioners for the 1 following seats: William F. Collins - District 3; Sydney D. Farrar - At-large; Adam 2 3 Smith - District 5; Guy David Smith - At-large; Charles L. Turner - District 4. Each of these incumbents shall be entitled to serve the remainder of his term. The terms of 4 5 Adam Smith and Guy David Smith expire in 1989; the terms of the other incumbents 6 expire in 1991. If any of the three commissioners designated as a commissioner for a numbered district dies, resigns or otherwise leaves office before the end of his term, the 7 8 person appointed to replace him must reside in the same district. 9 Sec. 4. This act is effective upon ratification.

1989