GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1989

H 1

HOUSE BILL 281

Short Title: Chowan Commissioners Election.	(Local)
Sponsors: Representative R. Thompson.	
Referred to: Judiciary.	

February 20, 1989

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO EXPAND THE SIZE OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF CHOWAN COUNTY AND PROVIDE FOR ITS ELECTION BY DISTRICTS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

1

2

3

4

5 6

7

8 9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19

21

Section 1. Effective on the first Tuesday in November of 1990, the Board of Commissioners of Chowan County shall consist of seven members.

- Sec. 2. (a) For the purpose of nominating and electing members of the county board of commissioners, the qualified voters of Chowan County shall nominate and elect one member at large.
- (b) For the purpose of nominating and electing members of the county board of commissioners, Chowan County is divided into three districts, each of which shall nominate and elect two members as follows:

District 1 consists of Townships 2 and 3.

District 2 consists of Township 4 and the following areas of Township 1: ED128A, 127, BNA9901 blocks 103, 124, 127, 309, 610-618, and BNA9902 blocks 114-120 and 201-203.

District 3 consists of the remainder of Township 1 not in District 2.

- Sec. 3. All townships and census units referred to in this act are delineated as designated by the United States Bureau of the Census for the 1980 Census.
- Sec. 4. The qualified voters of the county shall nominate candidates and elect 20 a member who resides in the county for the seat apportioned to the county at large. The 22 qualified voters of each district established by this act shall nominate candidates and elect a member who resides in that district for the seat apportioned to that district. 23

- Sec. 5. (a) In 1990, two commissioners shall be elected from District 2. The person receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected for a four-year term, and the person receiving the next highest number of votes shall be elected for a two-year term. In 1992 and biennially thereafter, one member shall be elected from District 2 for a four-year term.
- (b) In 1990, two commissioners shall be elected from District 3. The person receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected for a four-year term, and the person receiving the next highest number of votes shall be elected for a two-year term. In 1992 and biennially thereafter, one member shall be elected from District 3 for a four-year term.
- (c) In 1990 and biennially thereafter, one member shall be elected from District 1 for a four-year term.
- (d) In 1992 and quadrennially thereafter, one member shall be elected from the county at-large.
- Sec. 6. In Districts 1, 2, and 3, the two seats in each district shall be designated as Seat 1 and Seat 2 by the county board of elections, candidates shall designate which seat they are a candidate for, and the nomination and election shall be listed on the ballot separately within each district.
- Sec. 7. (a) From the first Monday in December of 1990 until the first Monday in December of 1992, Alton Elmore shall be the at-large commissioner, provided that if Alton Elmore vacates his seat on the county board of commissioners prior to the first Monday in December of 1990, his successor shall be the at-large commissioner.
- (b) From the first Monday in December of 1990 until the first Monday in December of 1992, Wayne Goodwin shall be a member of the county board of commissioners for Seat 1 of District 1; provided that if Wayne Goodwin vacates his seat on the county board of commissioners prior to the first Monday in December of 1990, his successor shall be a resident of District 1 and shall be the member of the county board of commissioners for Seat 1 of District 1.
 - Sec. 8. Chapter 301, Session Laws of 1963, is repealed.
- Sec. 9. This act shall become effective on the first Monday in December 1990, except that Sections 2, through 6 shall become effective beginning with the 1990 primary and election, and no primary or elections shall be held under Chapter 301, Session Laws of 1963.