GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **1989 SESSION RATIFIED BILL**

RESOLUTION 28 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1321

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE LIVES AND MEMORY OF JOHN WATSON, MICHAEL HIGGINS, JAMES WIMBLE, AND JOSHUA GRAINGER, THE FOUNDERS OF THE CITY OF WILMINGTON, ON THE CITY'S TWO HUNDRED FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, the City of Wilmington was founded in 1739, upon the brow of the hill above the mighty Cape Fear River; and

Whereas, the founding fathers, John Watson, Michael Higgins, James Wimble, and Joshua Grainger, are worthy of honoring and remembering on the two hundred fiftieth anniversary of the City of Wilmington; and

Whereas, the City of Wilmington possesses a rich, fascinating history and is replete with a unique culture which natives treasure and visitors find alluring; and

Whereas, the citizens of the City of Wilmington acknowledge those individuals of the past and present who have had the inspiration to dream, the ability to achieve, and the willingness to serve; and

Whereas, the citizens of the City of Wilmington proudly claim their heritage as part of a vital whole which has existed, prevailed, and flourished for two and a half centuries; and

Whereas, the residents of the City of Wilmington live in a place worthy of celebration; a city filled with architectural wonder, floral delight, and surrounded by wet sun-sparkled beauty;

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

Section 1. The House of Representatives wishes to honor the lives and memory of John Watson, Michael Higgins, James Wimble, and Joshua Grainger, the founding fathers of the City of Wilmington, and joins in the celebration of the City's two hundred fiftieth anniversary, which will officially begin on July 1, 1989.

Sec. 2. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Mayor of the City of Wilmington.

Sec. 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 28th day of June, 1989.

James C. Gardner President of the Senate

J. L. Mavretic Speaker of the House of Representatives