## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 1989**

S 2

## SENATE BILL 1416

Rules and Operation of the Senate Committee Substitute Adopted 7/10/90

Short Title: Senate President's Appointments.	(Public)
Sponsors:	
Referred to:	

## May 30, 1990

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS BOA

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE.

Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the President of the Senate; and

Whereas, the President of the Senate has made recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

3

4

5

6

7 8

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

Section 1. Bruce D. Michelsen of Durham County is appointed to the Alarm Systems Licensing Board for a term to expire June 30, 1992. This is the categorical appointment for a licensee.

- Sec. 2. J. Michael Plemmons of Buncombe County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western North Carolina Arboretum for a term to expire June 30, 1994.
- Sec. 3. Gary M. Garlow of Lincoln County is appointed to the State Building Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for a Professional Engineer.
- Sec. 4. Barry Shearer of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the Child Day Care Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1992. This is the categorical appointment for a nonprofit day care operator. Marilyn Lee of Stanly County is appointed to the Child Day Care Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1992. This is the categorical appointment for a for-profit day care operator.

1 2

- Sec. 5. Patricia Louise Tippett of Macon County is appointed to the State Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners for a term to expire June 30, 1993.
- Sec. 6. James P. Cain of Wake County and Daniel L. Brawley of New Hanover County are appointed to the Administrative Rules Review Commission for terms expiring June 30, 1992. James B. Mallory, III of Iredell County and George W. Jackson of Person County are appointed to the Administrative Rules Review Commission for terms expiring June 30, 1991.
- Sec. 7. Donald Q. Pate of Wake County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term to expire June 30, 1992.
- Sec. 8. Jimmy Lewis Moore of Alexander County is appointed to the North Carolina Medical Database Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for a representative of a business with fewer than 200 employees.
- Sec. 9. Robert Bruce Hoyle of Rutherford County is appointed to the State Fire Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1993.
- Sec. 10. Carl E. Worsley, Jr. of Dare County is appointed to the North Carolina Housing Partnership for a term to begin September 1, 1990, and expire August 31, 1993. This is an at-large categorical appointment. Betty Jean "BJ"Harris of Durham County is appointed to the North Carolina Housing Partnership for a term to begin effective immediately and expire August 31, 1990, and for a term to begin September 1, 1990, and to expire August 31, 1993. This is an at-large categorical appointment. David J. Meachem of Stanly County is appointed to the North Carolina Housing Partnership for a term to begin September 1, 1990, and to expire August 31, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for an advocate of low-income housing. John Vereen of Brunswick County is appointed to the North Carolina Housing Partnership for a term beginning September 1, 1990, and expiring August 31, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for a representative of the League of Municipalities. Herschel Allen Redding of Forsyth County is appointed to the North Carolina Housing Partnership for a term to begin September 1, 1990, and to expire August 31, 1993. This is the categorical appointment for a representative of home building industry.
  - Sec. 11. Helen Euliss of Alamance County is appointed to the Teaching Fellows Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1992. Franz Holscher of Gaston County is appointed to the Teaching Fellows Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1993. Johnny W. Shepherd of Lenoir County is appointed to the Teaching Fellows Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1991.
  - Sec. 12. Andrew Benjamin (Ben) Lloyd, Jr. of Orange County is appointed to the North Carolina Milk Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1994. This is the categorical appointment for a Grade A milk producer whose primary interest is dairy farming and who sells his milk to a cooperative plant.
- Sec. 13. Murphy Thomas (Tom) Wagner of Chatham County is appointed to the North Carolina Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Authority for a term to expire June 30, 1994.

- Sec. 14. Unless otherwise specified, all appointments made by this act are for terms to begin upon ratification.
- 3 Sec. 15. This act is effective upon ratification.