GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1991

H 2

HOUSE BILL 776 Committee Substitute Favorable 7/8/91

Short Title: W-S/Forsyth School Ele	etions. (Local)
Sponsors:	
Referred to:	
April 15, 1991	
A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT SIX MEMBERS OF THE WINSTON-SALEM/FORSYTH COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION SHALL BE ELECTED FROM DISTRICTS, AND THREE SHALL BE ELECTED AT LARGE. The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: Section 1. Section 2(a)(5)(ii) of Chapter 112, Session Laws of 1961, as rewritten by Chapter 466, Session Laws of 1985, reads as rewritten: "(ii) Effective on the first Monday in December 1986, the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education shall be composed of nine members. In the 1986—1994 election and quadrennially thereafter, five persons shall be elected to the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education for four-year terms. In the 1988—1992 election and quadrennially thereafter, four persons shall be elected to the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education for four-year terms. Persons shall be elected to those seats as follows:	
(1) In 1992 and quadre from Districts 1, 2, 3	4, and three persons shall be elected at large from

For the district seats, only residents of the district shall be eligible to be candidates

The districts as established for the purpose of this subparagraph are as follows:

and only qualified voters of the district shall be eligible to vote.

- District 1: Forsyth County: Broadbay #1 *, Middlefork #2 *, Middlefork #3 *,

 Ashley Middle School *, East Winston Library *, Easton Elementary School *, Forest

 Pk. Elementary School *, 14th Street Recreation Center *, Happy Hill Recreation

 Center *, Hill Middle School *, Mt. Sinai Church *, St. Andrews United Methodist *,

 Trinity Moravian Church *, Winston Lake Family YMCA *.
 - <u>District 2: Forsyth County: Brown/Douglas Recreation *, Brunson Elementary School *, Carver High School *, Forest Hill Fire Station *, Hanes Community Center *, Kennedy Middle School *, Lowrance Middle School *, M. L. King Recreation Center *, Memorial Coliseum *, Mineral Springs F. St *, New Hope United Methodist Church *, Old Town Presbyterian Church *.</u>
- District 3: Forsyth County: Ardmore Baptist Church *, Bethabara Moravian Church *, Bishop McGuinness *, Christ Moravian Church *, First Christian Church *, Forsyth Tech W. Camp. *, Greek Orthodox Church *, Latham Elementary School *, Miller Park Recreation Center *, Mt. Tabor High School *, Parkway United Church *, Polo Park Recreation Center *, Reynolds High School Gym *, South Fork Elem School *, St. Anne's Episcopal Church *, Summit School *, Trinity United Methodist Church *, Whitaker Elementary School *.
 - District 4: Forsyth County: Broadbay #2 *, Clemmonsville #3 *, Old Town #2 *, Old Town #3 *, South Fork #2 *, South Fork #3 *, Bible Wesleyan Church *, Bolton Swimming Center *, Calvary Baptist Church *, Country Club Fire St. *, Covenant Presbyterian Church *, Jefferson Elementary School *, Messiah Moravian Church *, Parkland High School *, Philo Middle School *, Sherwood Forest Elementary School *.
 - <u>District 5: Forsyth County: Bethania #1 *, Bethania #2 *, Bethania #3 *, Clemmonsville #1 *, Clemmonsville #2 *, Lewisville #1 *, Lewisville #2 *, Lewisville #3 *, Old Richmond *, Vienna #1 *, Vienna #2 *, Vienna #3 *.</u>
 - <u>District 6: Forsyth County: Abbotts Creek #1 *, Abbotts Creek #2 *, Abbotts Creek #3 *, Belews Creek *, Kernersville #1 *, Kernersville #2 *, Kernersville #3 *, Kernersville #4 *, Salem Chapel #1 *, Salem Chapel #2 *.</u>
 - District boundaries shall be as reported by the United States Bureau of the Census under Public Law 94-171 for the 1990 census, under the IVTD version of the TIGER files."
 - Sec. 2. The last sentence of Section 2(a)(5)(iii) of Chapter 112, Session Laws of 1961, as amended by Chapter 466, Session Laws of 1985, reads as rewritten:

"<u>For:</u>

- (1) At-large seats, three The four or five-candidates of each party, depending on the number of persons being elected in a given year, who receive the highest number of votes shall be declared the nominees of their party, party in accordance with law; and
- (2) Each district seat, the candidate of each party shall be declared the nominee of their party in accordance with law

and there shall be no second primary election."

Sec. 3. This act does not affect the terms of office of persons serving on the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Board of Education for terms to expire in 1992 or 1994. Sec. 4. This act is effective upon ratification.