GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1991

S 1

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1272

Sponsors: Senators Royall and Hunt.

Referred to: Rules and Operations of the Senate.

1

2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19

2021

22

July 10, 1992

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING DUKE UNIVERSITY ON WINNING ITS SECOND STRAIGHT NCAA DIVISION I MEN'S BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, on April 6, 1992, the student athletes on Duke University's men's basketball team won the 1992 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Championship by defeating the University of Michigan by a score of 71-51; and

Whereas, the championship is the second straight NCAA Division I men's basketball title for Duke University, the 1991 team having defeated the University of Kansas for the title by a score of 72-65; and

Whereas, Duke University is the first team to win consecutive NCAA Division I men's basketball championships since 1973, and the only member of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) ever to win consecutive championships; and

Whereas, Duke University was ranked Number One in men's basketball for the entire 1991-92 season, finished first in the ACC, won the ACC tournament, and ended the season with a record of 34-2; and

Whereas, Duke University holds an impressive record of 50 wins in 17 trips to the NCAA Tournament; and

Whereas, Duke University has been to the Final Four of the NCAA Tournament 10 times, making six appearances in the last seven years; and

Whereas, Head Coach Mike Krzyzewski is only the second coach in the history of the NCAA Tournament to lead a team to five consecutive appearances in the

Final Four, and has the highest winning percentage for active coaches in NCAA Tournament games with a record of 33-7; and

Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments bring great honor and distinction to the State of North Carolina, and deserve recognition by the State; and

Whereas, these accomplishments reflect favorably on the outstanding athletic program developed under the leadership of the late Edward (Eddie) Cameron, the long-time Duke basketball coach and athletic director for whom Cameron Indoor Stadium is named;

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

Section 1. The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to Duke University's men's basketball team for winning the 1992 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Championship.

Sec. 2. The General Assembly recognizes the achievements of head coach, Mike Krzyzewski; assistant coaches, Mike Brey, Tommy Amaker, Pete Gaudet, and Jay Bilas; team members, Christian Ast, Kenny Blakeney, Ron Burt, Marty Clark, Brian Davis, Grant Hill, Thomas Hill, Bobby Hurley, Christian Laettner, Antonio Lang, Erik Meek, and Cherokee Parks; trainer, Max Crowder; and senior managers Mark Williams and Suzanne Gilbert.

Sec. 3. The Secretary of State shall send certified copies of this resolution to Duke University President H. Keith Brodie, Athletic Director Tom Butters, and all of the individuals honored in this resolution.

Sec. 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.