## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 1993**

H 1

## **HOUSE BILL 320**

Short Title: Currituck Deer/Bear Hunting.	(Local)
Sponsors: Representative James.	
Referred to: Local and Regional Government I.	

## February 25, 1993

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO REPEAL THE PROHIBITIONS ON HUNTING MALE DEER ON THE
3	OUTER BANKS OF CURRITUCK COUNTY AND ON BEAR HUNTING IN
4	CURRITUCK COUNTY, AND TO AUTHORIZE SEASONS FOR TAKING
5	DEER WITH SHOTGUNS ON A PORTION OF THE OUTER BANKS OF
6	CURRITUCK COUNTY AND FOR HUNTING BLACK BEARS IN CURRITUCK
7	COUNTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

8

9

10 11

12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19

20

21

22

Section 1. Chapter 494 of the 1977 Session Laws is repealed.

- Sec. 2. Section 3 of Chapter 582 of the 1979 Session Laws reads as rewritten:
- "Sec. 3. This act applies only to the counties of Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington."
- Sec. 3. G.S. 113-133.1(e) is amended by deleting: "Currituck: Session Laws 1959, Chapter 545; Session Laws 1977, Chapter 494; Session Laws 1979, Chapter 582.", and substituting "Currituck: Session Laws 1959, Chapter 545."
- Sec. 4. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, there is an open season for hunting or taking antlered deer with shotguns no larger than 10 gauge in:
  - (1) That portion of Poplar Branch Township on the Outer Banks of Currituck County; and
  - (2) The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Swan Island and Monkey Island Refuge Areas on the Outer Banks of Currituck County;
- from October 18, 1993, through January 1, 1994, and in subsequent years as established by the Wildlife Resources Commission.

1	Sec. 5. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, there is an open season
2	for hunting or taking black bear in:
3	(1) That portion of Currituck County south and west of U.S. Highway
4	158; and
5	(2) All of Poplar Branch Township except that portion on the Outer Banks
6	of Currituck County;
7	from November 8, 1993, through November 13, 1993, and in subsequent years as
8	established by the Wildlife Resources Commission.
9	Sec. 6. This act applies only to Currituck County.
10	Sec. 7. This act is effective upon ratification.