GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1993

Η

HOUSE BILL 726

Short Title: Carteret Commissioners Election.

(Local)

1

Sponsors: Representatives Smith; and J. Preston.

Referred to: Local and Regional Government I.

April 5, 1993

A DILL TO DE ENTITLED

| 1 | A BILL TO BE ENTITLED |
|----|--|
| 2 | AN ACT TO EXPAND THE CARTERET COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS |
| 3 | FROM FIVE TO SEVEN MEMBERS AND REAPPORTION THE NOMINATION |
| 4 | AND ELECTION DISTRICTS. |
| 5 | The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: |
| 6 | Section 1. Effective the first Monday in December of 1996, the Carteret |
| 7 | County Board of Commissioners consists of seven members. |
| 8 | Sec. 2. (a) Carteret County is divided into two districts as provided by Section |
| 9 | 3 of this act. |
| 10 | (b) The qualified voters of each district shall nominate candidates who reside |
| 11 | in the district for seats apportioned to that district, and the qualified voters of the entire |
| 12 | county shall elect all the members of the board. The general election ballot shall |
| 13 | provide for each district to be voted on separately. |
| 14 | (c) In 1996 and quadrennially thereafter, all the members shall be elected for |
| 15 | four-year terms. |
| 16 | Sec. 3. One member of the Carteret County Board of Commissioners shall be |
| 17 | elected each from Districts 1, 2, 4, and 5, and three members of the Carteret County |
| 18 | Board of Commissioners shall be elected from District 3. |
| 19 | Sec. 4. The districts are as follows: |
| 20 | District 1 consists of White Oak Township and that part of Morehead |
| 21 | Township in the corporate limits of the Town of Emerald Isle. |
| 22 | District 2 consists of Newport Township. |
| 23 | District 3 consists of: Harlowe Township and all of Morehead Township |
| 24 | except the area within the corporate limits of the Town of Emerald Isle. |

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

| 1 | District 4 consists of Beaufort Township, and in Straits Township that area |
|----|--|
| 2 | South of Highway 70 and between the North River and Wards Creek, being 1990 U.S. |
| 3 | Census Tract 9701: Block Group 4: Block 487, Block 488, Block 489, Block 499G; |
| 4 | Tract 9703: Block Group 6: Block 641B; Block Group 7: Block 722B. |
| 5 | District 5 consists of Atlantic Township, Cedar Island Township, Davis |
| 6 | Township, Harkers Island Township, Marshallberg Township, Merrimon Township, |
| 7 | Portsmouth Township, Sea Level Township, Smyrna Township, Stacy Township, and |
| 8 | all of Straits Township except that part in District 4. |
| 9 | Sec. 5. Chapter 1043, Session Laws of 1963, and Chapter 723, Session Laws |
| 10 | of 1965, are repealed. |
| 11 | Sec. 6. Sections 1 through 5 of this act do not affect the terms of office or |
| 12 | manner of filling the vacancy of any person serving on the Board of Commissioners of |
| 13 | Carteret County previously elected for a term expiring in 1996. |

14 Sec. 7. This act is effective upon ratification.