## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1993 SESSION

## CHAPTER 113 HOUSE BILL 726

## AN ACT TO EXPAND THE CARTERET COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FROM FIVE TO SEVEN MEMBERS AND REAPPORTION THE NOMINATION AND ELECTION DISTRICTS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Effective the first Monday in December of 1996, the Carteret County Board of Commissioners consists of seven members.

Sec. 2. (a) 'Carteret County is divided into six districts as provided by Section 3 of this act.

(b) The qualified voters of each district shall nominate candidates who reside in the district for seats apportioned to that district, and the qualified voters of the entire county shall elect all the members of the board. The general election ballot shall provide for each district to be voted on separately.

(c) In 1996, the three persons elected who receive the highest numbers of votes are elected to four-year terms. Their successors shall be elected in 2000 and quadrennially thereafter for four-year terms. In 1996, the four persons elected who receive the next highest numbers of votes are elected to two-year terms. Their successors shall be elected in 1998 and quadrennially thereafter for four-year terms.

Sec. 3. One member of the Carteret County Board of Commissioners shall be elected each from Districts 1, 2, 4, 5, and 6, and two members of the Carteret County Board of Commissioners shall be elected from District 3.

Sec. 4. The districts are as follows:

District 1: That part of Morehead township in the corporate limits of the Town of Emerald Isle, White Oak township. It also includes in Morehead Township the waters of Bogue Sound in Block 199A of Census Tract 9709.

District 2: Newport township.

District 3: All of Morehead Township except for:

- (1) Bogue Banks;
- (2) The areas of Bogue Sound (including any islands) in Census Tracts 9710, 9711, and 9712; and
- (3) An area bounded as follows: Beginning at the point where the Beaufort Township line intersects the boundary line between Census Tracts 9704 and 9711, thence westerly along the boundary line between Census Tracts 9704 and 9711 until that boundary is intersected by an extension of 20th Street, thence northerly along that extension, 20th Street, Crab Point Road, and SR1176 to the

intersection of SR1177, thence west along SR1177 to the intersection with SR1207, thence north on SR1207 to a road, which is the boundary between Census Blocks 301 and 304 of Census Tract 9705, thence along that road and an extension of that road to the shoreline of Newport River, thence following the shoreline generally easterly 3805 feet to the boundary of Blocks 199C and 399 of Census Tract 9705, thence following that boundary across the Newport River to the Harlowe Township Boundary, thence along the Harlowe Township line easterly to the Beaufort Township line, thence southerly along the Beaufort Township line southerly to the point and place of beginning.

District 4: Beaufort township, Merrimon township.

District 5: Atlantic township, Cedar Island township, Davis township, Harkers Island township, Marshallberg township, Portsmouth township, Sea Level township, Smyrna township, Stacy township, Straits township.

District 6: Harlowe Township and the area of Morehead Township not in either Districts 1 or 3.

Sec. 5. When more than one person is seeking nomination to a single office, the candidate who receives the highest number of votes shall be declared the nominee. When more persons are seeking nomination to two or more offices (constituting a group) than there are offices to be filled, those candidates receiving the highest number of votes, equal in number to the number of offices to be filled, shall be declared the nominees. If two or more candidates receiving the highest number of votes necessary to be nominated each receive the same number of votes, the proper party executive committee shall, from among those candidates receiving the same number of votes, select the party nominee in accordance with G.S. 163-114.

Sec. 6. Chapter 1043, Session Laws of 1963, and Chapter 723, Session Laws of 1965, are repealed.

Sec. 7. Sections 1 through 6 of this act do not affect the terms of office or manner of filling the vacancy of any person serving on the Board of Commissioners of Carteret County previously elected for a term expiring in 1996.

Sec. 8. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 2nd day of June, 1993.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives