### GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

### **SESSION 1993**

S 1

### SENATE BILL 1724

Short Title: Senate President's Appointments.	(Public)
Sponsors: Senator Cooper.	
Referred to: Passed 1st, 2nd, and 3rd; Sent to House.	

# July 1, 1994

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE PRESIDENT AND PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE.

Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the President of the Senate or the President Pro Tempore of the Senate; and

Whereas, the President of the Senate and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate have made recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

### PART 1. PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

Section 1. Susan B. Roderick of Buncombe County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western North Carolina Arboretum for a term expiring June 30, 1998.

- Sec. 2. Debi Harrill of Cleveland County and Diana J. Wilson of Chowan County are appointed to the Child-Day Care Commission for a term expiring June 30, 1996. Debi Harrill is a categorical appointment for a person affiliated with a for-profit child day care center. Diana J. Wilson is a categorical appointment for a person affiliated with a nonprofit center or home.
- Sec. 3. Kim Dove of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Dietetics/Nutrition for a term expiring June 30, 1997. This is a categorical appointment for a licensed dietitian/nutritionist.

1 2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

2425

2627

28

29

30

31

- Sec. 4. Regina L. Hopkins of Lenoir County is appointed to the Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Authority for a term ending June 30, 1998.
  - Sec. 5. James Vann of Person County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term ending June 30, 1996.
  - Sec. 6. Kathy Barger of Pitt County is appointed to the North Carolina Medical Database Commission for a term ending June 30, 1997. This is a categorical appointment for a hospital administrator.
  - Sec. 7. Ken Haigler of Pitt County is appointed to the North Carolina State Ports Authority for a term ending June 30, 1996.
  - Sec. 8. Sherman Guillyard of Bladen County is appointed to the Private Protective Services Board for a term ending June 30, 1997.
  - Sec. 9. Teresa Smallwood of Bertie County and Vernice B. Howard of Hertford County are appointed to the Rules Review Commission for terms ending June 30, 1996.
  - Sec. 10. John Talbot Johnson of Moore County is appointed to the State Building Commission for a term ending June 30, 1997.
  - Sec. 11. Wayne Pollock of Durham County is appointed to the State Board of Therapeutic Recreation Certification Board for a term ending June 30, 1995. This is a categorical appointment for a recreation therapist.
  - Sec. 12. Lula Herring of Pender County is appointed to the State Board of Therapeutic Recreation Certification Board for a term ending June 30, 1997. This is a categorical appointment for a public member to the Board.

## PART 2. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE

- Sec. 13. Senators Beverly Perdue of Craven County and J. Richard Conder of Richmond County are appointed to the North Carolina Travel and Tourism Board for terms beginning on January 1, 1995, and expiring on December 31, 1996. Ward Barnett of Dare County and Barry Hipps of Swain County are appointed to the North Carolina Travel and Tourism Board for terms beginning on January 1, 1995, and expiring on December 31, 1996.
- Sec. 14. Judy Seamon of Carteret County and Barbara Morris of Harnett County are appointed to the Board of Directors of the North Carolina Center for Nursing for terms expiring June 30, 1997.
- Sec. 15. Unless otherwise specified, all appointments made by this act are for terms to begin upon ratification.
- 37 Sec. 16. This act is effective upon ratification.