GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1993

S 3

SENATE BILL 558

Rules and Operation of the Senate Committee Substitute Adopted 5/6/93 House Committee Substitute Favorable 7/24/93

Short Title: President Pro Tem.'s Appointments.	(Public)
Sponsors:	
Referred to:	

March 25, 1993

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBL

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SENATE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE.

Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the Senate President Pro Tempore; and

Whereas, the Senate President Pro Tempore has made recommendations; Now, therefore,

9 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

3

4

5

6

7 8

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19

20

Section 1. Rodney D. Ballance, Jr., of Dare County is appointed to the Private Protective Services Board for a three-year term to expire on June 30, 1996. This is the categorical appointment of a licensee under G.S. 74C-4(b).

Sec. 2. Henson P. Barnes of Wayne County and Frank B. Holding, Jr., of Mecklenburg County are appointed to the North Carolina Air Cargo Airport Authority, each for a four-year term to expire on June 30, 1997. Charles A. Hayes of Guilford County is appointed to the North Carolina Air Cargo Airport Authority for a two-year term to expire on June 30, 1995.

Sec. 3. Linda Anderson of Orange County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Electrolysis Examiners for a three-year term to begin on September 1, 1993, and expire on August 31, 1996.

- Sec. 4. Jane Sharpe of Orange County is appointed to the Genetic Engineering Review Board to fill a vacancy for the remainder of a term that expires on June 30, 1995.
 - Sec. 5. Dr. Patricia Chamings of Guilford County is appointed to the North Carolina Center for Nursing Board of Directors for a three-year term to expire on June 30, 1996. This is the categorical appointment of a registered nurse under G.S. 90-171.71(a)(1).
- Sec. 6. JoAnn Schoen of Moore County and Elizabeth Fearing of Dare County are appointed to the North Carolina Nursing Scholars Commission, each for a four-year term to expire on June 30, 1997. Wanda Boyette of Sampson County is appointed to the North Carolina Nursing Scholars Commission for a two-year term to expire on June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 7. Philip Adams of Wayne County is appointed to the North Carolina State Board of Examiners for Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselors for a four-year term to begin on October 1, 1993, and expire on September 30, 1997. This is the categorical appointment of a public member under G.S. 90-385(a)(3).
- Sec. 8. Henry E. Faircloth of Sampson County is appointed to the Real Estate Appraisal Board for a three-year term to expire on June 30, 1996.
- Sec. 9. Johnny Sutton of Richmond County, Jane Smith of Robeson County, and William W. Phipps of Columbus County are appointed to the Southeastern North Carolina Regional Economic Development Commission, each for a four-year term to expire on June 30, 1997. Danny Fore of Cumberland County and Jerry Munn of Brunswick County are appointed to the Southeastern North Carolina Regional Economic Development Commission, each for a two-year term to expire on June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 10. Page Paterson of New Hanover County is appointed to the Acupuncture Licensing Board for a two-year term to expire on June 30, 1995. Mary Cissy Majebe of Buncombe County is appointed to the Acupuncture Licensing Board for a three-year term to expire on June 30, 1996.
- Sec. 11. Mary Odom of Scotland County is appointed to the North Carolina Hazardous Waste Management Commission for a two-year term to expire on June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 12. Senator Ted Kaplan of Forsyth County and Senator C. R. Edwards of Cumberland County are appointed to the Economic Development Board, each for a two-year term to expire on June 30, 1995. Senator David Hoyle of Gaston County and Senator Elaine Marshall of Harnett County are appointed to the Economic Development Board, each for a four-year term to expire on June 30, 1997.
- Sec. 13. Jackie Fishman of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the North Carolina Principal Fellows Commission for a two-year term to expire on June 30, 1995.
- Sec. 14. Terry Mitchell of Pasquotank County, Noble Dillard of Union County, Ruth Murphy of Orange County, and Gary Stepp of Cherokee County are appointed to the Commission on School Technology, each for a two-year term to expire on June 30, 1995.

1 2

1	Sec. 15. Wanda Proffit of Yancey County, Matthew Bacoate of Buncombe
2	County, and Giles D. Beal, III, of Gaston County are appointed to the Western North
3	Carolina Regional Economic Development Commission, each for a four-year term to
4	expire on June 30, 1997. Juanita Dixon of Haywood County and David P. Huskins of
5	McDowell County are appointed to the Western North Carolina Regional Economic
6	Development Commission, each for a two-year term to expire on June 30, 1995.
7	Sec. 16. Unless otherwise specified, all appointments made by this act are for
8	terms to begin upon ratification.
9	Sec. 17. This act is effective upon ratification.