GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1995 SESSION

CHAPTER 52 HOUSE BILL 137

AN ACT TO MODIFY THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE ROCKINGHAM TOURISM DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Section 2(a) of Chapter 322 of the 1991 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

- "(a) Appointment and Membership. When the board of commissioners adopts a resolution levying a room occupancy tax under this act, it shall also adopt a resolution creating a county Tourism Development Authority, which shall be a public authority under the Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act and shall be composed of the following eleven-12 members:
 - (1) The Executive Director of the Rockingham County Economic Development Commission, who shall serve as an ex officio, nonvoting member.
 - (2) A county commissioner appointed by the Rockingham County Board of Commissioners, who shall serve as an ex officio, nonvoting member.
 - (3) Four Two owners or operators of hotels, motels, or other taxable accommodations, accommodations and two individuals involved in tourist businesses who have demonstrated an interest in tourism development, appointed as follows: one by the Rockingham County Board of Commissioners and one by each chamber of commerce in Rockingham County. Two of these four appointees shall own or operate hotels, motels, or other accommodations with more than 50 rental units and two shall own or operate hotels, motels, or other accommodations with 50 or fewer rental units.
 - (4) Five individuals involved in tourist businesses who have demonstrated an interest in tourism development and may or may not own or operate hotels, motels, or other taxable accommodations, businesses or professions that are concerned with or affected by tourism development in such a way that their expertise would benefit the Authority, appointed as follows: one by each chamber of commerce in Rockingham County and two by the Rockingham County Board of Commissioners.
 - (5) The President of the Chinqua-Penn Foundation, Inc., who shall serve as an ex officio, nonvoting member.

All members of the Authority shall serve without compensation. Vacancies in the Authority shall be filled by the appointing authority of the member creating the vacancy. Members appointed to fill vacancies shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term which they are appointed to fill. Except as provided in subsection (b) for initial members, members shall serve three-year terms. Members may serve no more than two consecutive terms. The members shall elect a chair from the membership of the Authority, who shall serve for a term of two years. The Authority shall meet at the call of the chair and shall adopt rules of procedure to govern its meetings. The Finance Officer for Rockingham County shall be the ex officio finance officer of the Authority."

Sec. 2. This act is effective upon ratification and applies to appointments made on or after that date.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 1st day of May, 1995.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

Harold J. Brubaker Speaker of the House of Representatives