GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1995 SESSION

CHAPTER 685 SENATE BILL 1377

AN ACT ESTABLISHING THE HARMON FIELD BOARD OF SUPERVISORS FOR ADMINISTRATION OF HARMON FIELD LOCATED IN POLK COUNTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. There is hereby created the Harmon Field Board of Supervisors (hereinafter "Board") for the administration of Harmon Field located in the Tryon Township of Polk County.

- Sec. 2. (a) The Board shall consist of five members, each of whom shall reside in Tryon Township. The members of the Board shall be appointed as follows:
 - (1) Two members from the Town of Tryon appointed by the Tryon Town Council, each to serve staggered four-year terms;
 - (2) Two members appointed by the Polk County Commissioners, each to serve staggered four-year terms; and
 - One member, appointed alternately by the Tryon Town Council and the Polk County Commissioners, to serve a two-year term.
- (b) The initial members of the Board may be appointed by the respective appointing authorities to serve less than four-year terms in order to allow for staggered terms. The initial member appointed pursuant to subdivision (a)(3) of this section shall be appointed by the Polk County Commissioners. The initial appointments shall be effective July 1, 1996, and all subsequent appointments shall run on a year beginning July 1st and ending June 30th. Vacancies on the Board shall be filled for any unexpired portion of a term by the respective appointing authorities.
- Sec. 3. The Board shall adopt written bylaws to govern the conduct of its business. The Board's bylaws shall be subject to the approval of the Tryon Town Council and the Polk County Commissioners.
- Sec. 4. Nothing in this act affects the authority of Polk County to levy the ad valorem tax in Tryon Township, pursuant to Chapter 793 of the 1949 Session Laws, for the purpose of maintaining Harmon Field.
 - Sec. 5. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 21st day of June, 1996.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate Harold J. Brubaker Speaker of the House of Representatives