GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1997

H 1

HOUSE BILL 1278

(Local)

May 14, 1998

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ALLOW WAYNE COUNTY TO ACQUIRE PROPERTY FOR USE BY THE COUNTY BOARDS OF EDUCATION.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. G.S. 153A-158.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 153A-158.1. Acquisition and improvement of school property in certain counties.

- (a) Acquisition by County. A county may acquire, by any lawful method, any interest in real or personal property for use by a school administrative unit within the county. In exercising the power of eminent domain a county shall use the procedures of Chapter 40A. The county shall use its authority under this subsection to acquire property for use by a school administrative unit within the county only upon the request of the board of education of that school administrative unit and after a public hearing.
- (b) Construction or Improvement by County. A county may construct, equip, expand, improve, renovate, or otherwise make available property for use by a school administrative unit within the county. The local board of education shall be involved in the design, construction, equipping, expansion, improvement, or renovation of the property to the same extent as if the local board owned the property.
- (c) Lease or Sale by Board of Education. Notwithstanding the provisions of G.S. 115C-518 and G.S. 160A-274, a local board of education may, in connection with additions, improvements, renovations, or repairs to all or part of any of its property, lease

or sell the property to the board of commissioners of the county in which the property is located for any price negotiated between the two boards.

- (d) Board of Education May Contract for Construction. Notwithstanding the provisions of G.S. 115C-40 and G.S. 115C-521, a local board of education may enter into contracts for the erection of school buildings upon sites owned in fee simple by one or more counties in which the local school administrative unit is located.
- (e) Scope. This section applies to Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Bladen, Brunswick, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Cherokee, Chowan, Columbus, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Graham, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hannadd, Hada, Iradell, Jackson, Jahreton, Jackson, Madison, Madison,
- Harnett, Haywood, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Macon, Madison, Martin, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Onslow, Orange, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans,
- Martin, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Onslow, Orange, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly,
- 13 Stokes, Surry, Union, Vance, Wake, Wilson, and Watauga Watauga, and Wayne
- 14 Counties."

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8 9

15

Section 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.