## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

#### SESSION 1997

S

1

(Local)

### SENATE BILL 410

Short Title: Buncombe Commissioners Elections.

Sponsors: Senators Ledbetter; Carpenter and Clark.

Referred to: State Government, Local Government, and Personnel.

## March 18, 1997

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO CHANGE THE ELECTION METHOD FOR THE BOARD OF
3	COMMISSIONERS OF BUNCOMBE COUNTY.
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
5	Section 1. (a) Effective the first Monday in December of 2000, the Board of
6	Commissioners of Buncombe County consists of nine members.
7	(b) The chairman of the board of commissioners shall be nominated and elected by
8	the qualified voters of the county in 2000 and quadrennially thereafter for a four-year
9	term.
10	(c) One resident of each district shall be nominated and elected by the qualified
11	voters of each district to the board of commissioners. The districts are as established by
12	subsection (d) of this section. In 2000, the persons elected to the board of commissioners
13	who receive the four highest percentages of the vote in their district are elected to four-
14	year terms, and their successors shall be elected in 2004 and quadrennially thereafter for
15	four-year terms. The persons elected to the board of commissioners from the other four
16	districts are elected to two-year terms, and their successors shall be elected in 2002 and
17	quadrennially thereafter for four-year terms.
18	(d) The electoral districts are as follows:
19	District 1: Buncombe County: Woodfin *, Flat Creek *, French Broad *, Ivy
20	#1 *, Ivy #2 *, Reems Creek *, Weaverville #1 *, Weaverville #2 *.

# GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1	District 2: Buncombe County: Asheville #14 *, Hazel #1 *, Hazel #2 *,
2	Leicester *, West Buncombe *, Sandy Mush *.
3	District 3: Buncombe County: Lower Hominy #1 *, Lower Hominy #2 *,
4	Lower Hominy #3 *, Upper Hominy #1 *, Upper Hominy #2 *.
5	District 4: Buncombe County: Asheville #8 *, Asheville #18 *, Asheville #19
6	*, Biltmore *, Averys Creek *, Limestone #1 *, Limestone #2 *.
7	District 5: Buncombe County: Asheville #6 *, Asheville #9 *, Reynolds *,
8	Broad River *, Fairview *.
9	District 6: Buncombe County: Black Mountain #1 *, Black Mountain #2 *,
10	Black Mountain #3 *, Black Mountain #4 *, Riceville *, Swannanoa #1 *, Swannanoa #2
11	*
12	District 7: Buncombe County: Asheville #1 *, Asheville #2 *, Asheville #10 *,
13	Asheville #11 *, Asheville #12 *, Asheville #13 *, Asheville #15 *, Asheville #16 *.
14	District 8: Buncombe County: Asheville #3 *, Asheville #4 *, Asheville #5 *,
15	Asheville #7 *, Asheville #17 *, Asheville #20 *, Asheville #21 *, Beaverdam *, Haw
16	Creek *.
17	(e) The names and boundaries of precincts (voting tabulation districts)
18	specified in this section are as they were legally defined and recognized in the 1990 U.S.
19	Census. Boundaries are as shown on the IVTD Version of the United States Bureau of
20	the Census 1990 TIGER Files.
21	Section 2. To the extent that this act conflicts with Chapter 936 of the 1963
22	Session Laws and Chapter 129 of the 1983 Session Laws, this act prevails to the extent of
23	the conflict.
24	Section 3. This act does not affect the terms of office of those persons elected
25	in 1996.
26	Section 4. This act is effective when it becomes law.