GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 1999

HOUSE BILL 652 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO MODIFY THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE ROANOKE ISLAND HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. G.S. 143-200 reads as rewritten:

"§ 143-200. Members of board of directors; terms; appointment.

The governing body of said-the Association shall be a board of directors consisting of the Governor of the State, the Attorney General-General, the Superintendent of <u>Public Instruction, the Chair of the Dare County Board of Commissioners</u>, and the Secretary of Cultural Resources Resources, or their designees, as ex officio members, and the following 21 members: J. Spencer Love, Greensboro; Miles Clark, Elizabeth City; Mrs. Richard J. Reynolds, Winston-Salem; D. Hiden Ramsey, Asheville; Mrs. Charles A. Cannon, Concord; Dr. Fred Hanes, Durham; Mrs. Frank P. Graham, Chapel Hill; Bishop Thomas C. Darst, Wilmington; W. Dorsey Pruden, Edenton; John A. Buchanan, Durham; William B. Rodman, Jr., Washington; J. Melville Broughton, Raleigh; Melvin R. Daniels, Manteo; Paul Green, Chapel Hill; Samuel Selden, Chapel Hill; R. Bruce Etheridge, Manteo; Theodore S. Meekins, Manteo; Roy L. Davis, Manteo; M. K. Fearing, Manteo; A. R. Newsome, Chapel Hill. The members of said the board of directors herein named other than the ex officio members, shall serve for a term of two years and until their successors are appointed. Appointments thereafter shall be made by the membership of the Association in regular annual meeting or special meeting called for such purpose. In the event the Association through its membership should fail to make such appointments, then the appointments shall be made by the Governor of the State. If a vacancy occurs between annual meetings, the board of directors may fill the vacancy until the next annual meeting. All vacancies occurring on the board of directors not filled by the board of directors within 30 days of the vacancy shall be filled by the Governor of the State."

Section 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 26th day of April, 1999.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives

James B. Hunt, Jr. Governor

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

Approved ______.m. this ______ day of ______, 19