GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 1999

HOUSE BILL 811 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO AMEND THE CHARTER OF THE CITY OF HAVELOCK TO INCREASE THE TERM OF THE MAYOR FROM TWO YEARS TO FOUR YEARS BEGINNING WITH THE REGULAR MUNICIPAL ELECTION IN 2001.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Section 3(a) of the Charter of the City of Havelock, being Chapter 952 of the 1959 Session Laws, as amended by Chapter 152 of the 1977 Session Laws, reads as rewritten:

"(a) The Government of the City of Havelock shall be vested in a mayor and a board of commissioners made up of five members. Regular elections shall be held biennially to elect a mayor for a term of two years and, elect, as their terms expire, commissioners for terms of four years. years and, until the regular election in 2001, a mayor for a term of two years. Beginning with the regular election in 2001, a mayor shall be elected for a term of four years. In the regular election in 1977, and quadrennially thereafter, there shall be elected two commissioners; and in the regular election in 1979, and quadrennially thereafter, there shall be elected three commissioners. Voters in each regular election shall be entitled to one vote for the office of mayor and as many votes for the offices of commissioner as there are full terms for commissioner to be filled pursuant to this subparagraph. subparagraph, and to one vote for the office of mayor in the year in which the term of the mayor expires. The candidate for mayor who receives the highest number of votes shall be declared elected; and candidates for commissioner, equal in number to the number of offices to be filled, who receive the highest number of votes, shall be declared elected."

Section 2. All existing ordinances, resolutions, and other provisions of the City of Havelock not inconsistent with the provisions of this act shall continue in effect until repealed or amended.

Section 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 31st of May, 1999.

Dennis A. Wicker
President of the Senate

James B. Black

eaker of the House of Representatives