GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

SENATE BILL 651 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE MEMBERSHIP AND METHOD OF APPOINTING THE MEMBERS OF THE MOUNT AIRY PLANNING BOARD AND THE ZONING BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT OF AND FOR THE CITY OF MOUNT AIRY UPON THE ADOPTION OF AN ORDINANCE BY THE CITY OF MOUNT AIRY EXTENDING ITS JURISDICTION ONE MILE BEYOND ITS CORPORATE LIMITS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1.(a) The City of Mount Airy shall create a Planning Board and a Zoning Board of Adjustment pursuant to Article 19 of Chapter 160A of the General Statutes upon extending its extraterritorial jurisdiction one mile beyond the corporate limits by ordinance.

SECTION 1.(b) The Planning Board shall consist of nine members. Five members of the Planning Board shall be appointed by the Board of Commissioners of the City of Mount Airy, and four of the members shall be appointed by the Board of

Commissioners of Surry County.

SECTION 1.(c) For the initial appointments to the Planning Board, the City of Mount Airy shall appoint three members for a four-year term each and two members for a two-year term each, and Surry County shall appoint two members for a four-year term each and two members for a two-year term each. Each successive appointment of members to the Planning Board shall be for a term of four years.

SECTION 1.(d) The Zoning Board of Adjustment shall consist of nine regular members and two alternate members. Five members of the Zoning Board of Adjustment shall be appointed by the Board of Commissioners of the City of Mount Airy, and four members shall be appointed by the Board of Commissioners of Surry County. One alternate member shall be appointed by the City of Mount Airy, and one alternate member shall be appointed by Surry County. Members and alternate members may be reappointed.

SECTION 1.(e) For the initial appointments of regular members to the Zoning Board of Adjustment, the City of Mount Airy shall appoint three members for a four-year term each and two members for a two-year term each, and Surry County shall appoint two members for a four-year term each and two members for a two-year term each. Initially, each alternate member of the Zoning Board of Adjustment shall be appointed for a two-year term. Each successive appointment of members, regular or alternate, to the Zoning Board of Adjustment shall be for a term of four years.

SECTION 2. This act applies to the City of Mount Airy and to Surry County

only.

SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 21st day of May, 2001.

Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate

James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives