GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2003

SESSION LAW 2004-64 HOUSE BILL 1674

AN ACT CONCERNING FILLING OF VACANCIES IN THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE TOWN OF ZEBULON.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 3.3 of the Charter of the Town of Zebulon, being Chapter 386 of the 1973 Session Laws, as rewritten by the Town under G.S. 160A-101 and G.S. 160A-102, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3.3. Members of the Town Board of Commissioners shall hereafter be elected for four-year terms on a staggered basis as follows: at the regular municipal election to be held in 1977, the two candidates who receive the highest number of votes shall be elected for four-year terms, while the three candidates who receive the next highest number of votes shall be elected for two-year terms. Beginning at the regular municipal election to be held in 1979, and every four years thereafter, three members of the Board of Commissioners shall be elected to serve for four-year terms. Beginning at the regular municipal election to be held in 1979, and every four years thereafter, two members of the Board of Commissioners shall be elected to serve for four-year terms. Beginning at the regular municipal election to be held in 1981 and every four years thereafter the Mayor of the Town of Zebulon shall be elected for a four-year term.

In the event a vacancy occurs in the office of commissioner, the board shall, by a plurality vote, appoint a qualified person to fill the vacancy until the next general election. The person appointed to fill the vacancy shall serve only until an elected successor takes office. From the votes cast at the election, the seats shall be filled as follows: the full-term seats that would normally be up for election shall be filled first based on the highest numbers of votes equal to the number of seats to be filled for full terms, and the unexpired term(s) shall be filled based on the next highest number of votes."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 7th day of July, 2004.

s/ Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

s/ James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives