GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

Η

HOUSE DRH10194-LBx-173 (03/22)

Short Title: Surf City Satellite Annexations.

Sponsors:	Representative Justice.
Referred to:	

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS BY THE
3	TOWN OF SURF CITY.
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
5	SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:
6	"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
7	standards:
8	
9	(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to
10	the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten
11	percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the
12	annexing city.
13	This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont,
14	Concord, Conover, Gastonia, Hickory, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy,
15	Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Rockingham,
16	Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the
17	Towns of Angier, Bladenboro, Calabash, Catawba, Creswell, Dallas,
18	Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly,
19	Knightdale, Leland, Louisburg, Maiden, Mayodan, Midland,
20	Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level, Ranlo, Rolesville,
21	Rutherfordton, <u>Surf City,</u> Swansboro, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw,
22	Waynesville, Wendell, and Zebulon."
23	SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

D

(Local)