GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

HOUSE BILL 1202 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO CLARIFY ALTERNATIVE REPRESENTATION OF METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATIONS ON REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY BOARDS OF TRUSTEES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-635(a) reads as rewritten:

- "(a) The governing body of an authority is the Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees shall consist of:
 - (1) The mayor of the four cities within the service area that have the largest population, or a member of the city council designated by the city council to serve in the absence of the mayor.

(2) Two members of the Board of Transportation appointed by the Secretary of Transportation, to serve as ex officio nonvoting members.

- (3) The chair of each Metropolitan Planning Organization or a member of the Metropolitan Planning Organization designated by the Metropolitan Planning Organization in the territorial jurisdiction. The chair of the Metropolitan Planning Organization may appoint the Chair of the Transportation Advisory Committee, or a designee approved by the Transportation Advisory Committee, as his or her designee.
- (4) The chair of the board of commissioners of any county within the territorial jurisdiction or a member of the board of commissioners designated by the board to serve in the absence of the chair, but only if the Board of Trustees by resolution has expanded the Board of Trustees to include the chair of the board of commissioners of that county and the board of commissioners of that county has consented by resolution.
- (5) The chair of the principal airport authority or airport commission of each of the two most populous counties within the territorial jurisdiction, as determined by the most recent decennial federal census. The chair of the airport authority or airport commission may appoint a designee. The designee is not required to be a member of the airport authority or airport commission."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 16th day of August, 2005.

		Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate	
		James B. Black Speaker of the House of Re	epresentatives
		Michael F. Easley Governor	
Approved	m. this	day of	, 2005

Page 2 H1202 [Ratified]