GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

H HOUSE BILL 1321

Short Title: Add'l District Ct Judge/District 15B/Funds. (Public)

Sponsors: Representatives Hackney, Insko, and Faison (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to: Appropriations Subcommittee on Justice and Public Safety.

April 20, 2005

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH A NEW DISTRICT COURT
JUDGE IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 15B.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

4 5

6

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

/	following table:		
8	District	Judges	County
9	1	5	Camden
10			Chowan
11			Currituck
12			Dare
13			Gates
14			Pasquotank
15			Perquimans
16	2	4	Martin
17			Beaufort
18			Tyrrell
19			Hyde
20			Washington
21	3A	5	Pitt
22	3B	5	Craven
23			Pamlico
24			Carteret
25	4	8	Sampson
26			Duplin
27			Jones
28			Onslow
29	5	8	New Hanover

Ge	eneral Assembly of No	orth Carolina	Session 2005	
1			Pender	
2	6A	2	Halifax	
3	6B	3	Northampton	
4	<u>-</u>	-	Bertie	
5			Hertford	
6	7	7	Nash	
7			Edgecombe	
8			Wilson	
9	8	6	Wayne	
10		-	Greene	
11			Lenoir	
12	9	4	Granville	
13		·	(part of Vance	
14			see subsection (b))	
15			Franklin	
16	9A	2	Person	
17			Caswell	
18	9B	2	Warren	
19			(part of Vance	
20			see subsection (b))	
21	10	15	Wake	
22	11	8	Harnett	
23			Johnston	
24			Lee	
25	12	9	Cumberland	
26	13	6	Bladen	
27			Brunswick	
28			Columbus	
29	14	6	Durham	
30	15A	4	Alamance	
31	15B	4 <u>5</u>	Orange	
32		-	Chatham	
33	16A	3	Scotland	
34			Hoke	
35	16B	5	Robeson	
36	17A	2 4	Rockingham	
37	17B	4	Stokes	
38			Surry	
39	18	12	Guilford	
40	19A	4	Cabarrus	
41	19B	6	Montgomery	
42			Moore	
43			Randolph	
44	19C	4	Rowan	

Ger	neral Assembly of Nor	th Carolina	Session 2005	
	20	7	Stanly	
		ŕ	Union	
			Anson	
			Richmond	
	21	9	Forsyth	
	22	9	Alexander	
			Davidson	
			Davie	
			Iredell	
	23	4	Alleghany	
		•	Ashe	
			Wilkes	
			Yadkin	
	24	4	Avery	
		•	Madison	
			Mitchell	
			Watauga	
			Yancey	
	25	8	Burke	
	23	O	Caldwell	
			Catawba	
	26	17	Mecklenburg	
	27A	6	Gaston	
	27B	4	Cleveland	
	270	т	Lincoln	
	28	6	Buncombe	
	29	7	Henderson	
	2)	,	McDowell	
			Polk	
			Rutherford	
	30	5	Transylvania Cherokee	
	30	3		
			Clay	
			Graham	
			Haywood	
			Jackson	
			Macon	
		DL =	Swain."	
	SECTION 2.	ne additional district co	urt judge for District 15B authorized	

SECTION 2. The additional district court judge for District 15B authorized by this act shall be elected in the 2006 general election for a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in December 2006.

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty-six thousand five hundred sixty-seven dollars (\$86,567)

40

41

42

43

- 1 for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the new district court judge for District Court
- 2 District 15B authorized by this act.
- 3 **SECTION 4.** This act becomes effective December 1, 2006.