## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2005**

Η D **HOUSE DRH30105-LL-119A\*** (2/11)

Short Title:	Add'l District Ct Judges/District 10/Funds.					(Public)		
Sponsors:	Representatives Sponsors).	Weiss,	В.	Allen,	Coleman,	and	Martin	(Primary
Referred to:								

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1

2 AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH TWO NEW DISTRICT COURT JUDGES IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 10.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

3

4

5

6

7

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

8	District	Judges	County
9	1	5	Camden
10			Chowan
11			Currituck
12			Dare
13			Gates
14			Pasquotank
15			Perquimans
16	2	4	Martin
17			Beaufort
18			Tyrrell
19			Hyde
20			Washington
21	3A	5	Pitt
22	3B	5	Craven
23			Pamlico
24			Carteret
25	4	8	Sampson
26			Duplin

Gen	eral Assembly of Noi	Session 2005		
			Jones	
			Onslow	
	5	8	New Hanover	
			Pender	
	6A	2	Halifax	
	6B	3	Northampton	
			Bertie	
			Hertford	
	7	7	Nash	
	•	•	Edgecombe	
			Wilson	
	8	6	Wayne	
	O	o .	Greene	
			Lenoir	
	9	4	Granville	
		7	(part of Vance	
			-	
			see subsection (b)) Franklin	
	0.4	2		
	9A	2	Person	
	OD	2	Caswell	
	9B	2	Warren	
			(part of Vance	
	10	15.15	see subsection (b))	
	10	<del>15</del> <u>17</u>	Wake	
	11	8	Harnett	
			Johnston	
			Lee	
	12	9	Cumberland	
	13	6	Bladen	
			Brunswick	
			Columbus	
	14	6	Durham	
	15A	4	Alamance	
	15B	4	Orange	
			Chatham	
	16A	3	Scotland	
			Hoke	
	16B	5	Robeson	
	17A	2	Rockingham	
	17B	4	Stokes	
			Surry	
	18	12	Guilford	
	19A	4	Cabarrus	
	19B	6	Montgomery	

Page 2 H975 [Filed]

	<b>General Assembly of Nort</b>	h Carolina	Session 2005
1			Moore
1			
2	19C	4	Randolph Rowan
3		4 7	
4	20	1	Stanly Union
5			
6			Anson
7	21	0	Richmond
8	21	9	Forsyth
9	22	9	Alexander
10			Davidson
11			Davie
12	22	4	Iredell
13	23	4	Alleghany
14			Ashe
15			Wilkes
16			Yadkin
17	24	4	Avery
18			Madison
19			Mitchell
20			Watauga
21			Yancey
22	25	8	Burke
23			Caldwell
24			Catawba
25	26	17	Mecklenburg
26	27A	6	Gaston
27	27B	4	Cleveland
28			Lincoln
29	28	6	Buncombe
30	29	7	Henderson
31			McDowell
32			Polk
33			Rutherford
34			Transylvania
35	30	5	Cherokee
36			Clay
37			Graham
38			Haywood
39			Jackson
40			Macon
41			Swain."
42	SECTION 2. The	ne Governor shall appoir	nt the additional district court judges
43			ges' successors shall be elected in the

H975 [Filed] Page 3 4

5

6

7

8

2006 general election for four-year terms commencing on the first Monday in December
2006.
SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial

**SECTION 3.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of two hundred thirteen thousand five hundred seventy-six dollars (\$213,576) for the 2005-2006 fiscal year and the sum of two hundred fifty-one thousand eight hundred twenty-four dollars (\$251,824) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the two new district court judges for District Court District 10 authorized by this act.

**SECTION 4.** This act becomes effective October 1, 2005.

Page 4 H975 [Filed]