GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION DRSJR55041-LG-76 (02/16)

Sponsors:	Senator Albertson.
Referred to:	

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE TOWN OF SALEMBURG ON THE TOWN'S 100TH ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, the Town of Salemburg, located in northwestern Sampson County, will be celebrating 100 years of incorporation on February 21, 2005; and

Whereas, the Town was established as Salem but was renamed Salemburg when it was incorporated in 1905 by the General Assembly; and

Whereas, the first officers of Salemburg included Mayor A.F. Howard, Commissioners Dr. G.L. Sykes, C.S. Royal, S.A. Howard, F.D. Parker, and J.E. Howard, and Constable Ivy Royal; and

Whereas, the citizens of Salemburg have made significant contributions to the social, cultural, political, and economic prosperity of the State of North Carolina; and

Whereas, Salemburg has continued to grow and prosper through the continued dedication, insight, and planning of the Town's concerned leaders and citizens; and

Whereas, plans have been made to celebrate the Town's historic anniversary on February 21, 2005, and during other times throughout the year; and

Whereas, this occasion is worthy of celebration and should be enjoyed and supported by all North Carolinians; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly honors the memory of the founders of the Town of Salemburg and congratulates the Town on its 100th anniversary.

SECTION 2. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Mayor of the Town of Salemburg.

SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification.