## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2005**

S D SENATE DRS65135-LMx-63A (03/01)

	Short Title:	Kannapolis Satellite Annexations. (Local)
	Sponsors:	Senator Hartsell.
	Referred to:	
1		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT	REMOVING CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE
3	ANNEXA	ATIONS FOR THE CITY OF KANNAPOLIS.
4	The General	Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
5	SE	CCTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten:
6	"(b) A 1	noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
7	standards:	
8	( <del>1)</del>	
9		more than three miles from the primary corporate limits of the
10		annexing city.
11	<del>(2)</del>	
12		primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate
13		limits of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this
14	(2)	section.
15	(3)	•
16		provide the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits
17	(4)	that it provides within its primary corporate limits.
18	(4)	1 1
19		subdivision as defined in G.S. 160A-376, all of the subdivision must
20	(5)	be included.
21	(5)	
22		the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten
23		percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the
24		annexing city.
25		This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont,
26		Concord, Conover, Gastonia, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion,

Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman,

1	Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and
2	Washington and the Towns of Angier, Bladenboro, Calabash,
3	Catawba, Creswell, Dallas, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Holly
4	Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Leland, Louisburg, Maiden,
5	Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level,
6	Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Swansboro, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw,
7	Waynesville, Wendell, and Zebulon."
8	<b>SECTION 2.</b> This act applies to the City of Kannapolis only.
9	<b>SECTION 3.</b> This act applies only to annexations in the area of Cabarrus
10	County bound by the existing City of Kannapolis corporate limits to the east, the
11	Mecklenburg County/Cabarrus County line to the west, the Cabarrus County/Rowan
12	County/Iredell County lines to the north, and N.C. Highway 73 to the south.
13	<b>SECTION 4.</b> This act is effective when it becomes law.

Page 2 S460 [Filed]