GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S SENATE BILL 460

Short Title:	Kannapolis Satellite Annexations. (Local)
Sponsors:	Senator Hartsell.
Referred to:	Finance.
	March 10, 2005
The General SI	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED REMOVING CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ATIONS FOR THE CITY OF KANNAPOLIS. Assembly of North Carolina enacts: ECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten: noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
standards: (1	The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more than three miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
(2	•
(3	
(4	
(5	

Concord, Conover, Gastonia, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion,

Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman,

Washington and the Towns of Angier, Bladenboro, Calabash,

Statesville, and

Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport,

1	Catawba, Creswell, Dallas, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Holly
2	Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Leland, Louisburg, Maiden,
3	Mayodan, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Pembroke, Pine Level,
4	Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Swansboro, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw,
5	Waynesville, Wendell, and Zebulon."
6	SECTION 2. This act applies to the City of Kannapolis only.
7	SECTION 3. This act applies only to annexations in the area of Cabarrus
8	County bound by the existing City of Kannapolis corporate limits to the east, the
9	Mecklenburg County/Cabarrus County line to the west, the Cabarrus County/Rowan
10	County/Iredell County lines to the north, and N.C. Highway 73 to the south.
11	SECTION 4. This act is effective when it becomes law.