## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

## SESSION LAW 2005-147 SENATE BILL 88

AN ACT REPEALING THE APPLICABILITY OF CERTAIN MOTOR VEHICLE LAWS ON PROPERTIES OWNED OR UNDER THE CONTROL OF THE BENT TREE PLANTATION HOMEOWNERS ASSOCIATION IN BRUNSWICK COUNTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** Section 1 of S.L. 2002-128 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1. The provisions of Chapter 20 of the General Statutes relating to the use of the highways of the State and the operation of motor vehicles are applicable to the streets, roadways, and alleys on the properties owned by or under the control of the Sanders Forest Development Association, Inc., or its members and the Bent Tree Plantation Homeowners Association, Inc., or its members. For purposes of this act, streets, roadways, and alleys in the Sanders Forest and Bent Tree Plantation communities community shall have the same meaning as highways and public vehicular areas pursuant to G.S. 20-4.01. A violation of any of those laws is punishable as prescribed by those laws."

**SÉCTION 2.** Section 2 of S.L. 2002-128 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2. This act shall not be construed as in any way interfering with the ownership and control of the streets, roadways, and alleys of the Sanders Forest Development Association, Inc., and the Bent Tree Plantation Homeowners Association, Inc., or its members as is now vested by law in that association or its members. The speed limits within the Sanders Forest and Bent Tree Plantation communities community shall be the same as those in effect at the time of ratification of this act. Any proposed change in the speed limit shall be submitted to and approved by the Brunswick County Board of Commissioners. Pursuant to G.S. 20-141, the Brunswick County Board of Commissioners may authorize by ordinance higher or lower speeds."

**SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 5<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2005.

s/ Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate

s/ James B. Black Speaker of the House of Representatives