## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

## SESSION LAW 2007-308 HOUSE BILL 1555

## AN ACT PROVIDING FOUR-YEAR TERMS FOR ALL APPOINTMENTS TO THE PROPERTY TAX COMMISSION.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 105-288(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Creation and Membership. – The Property Tax Commission is created. It consists of five members, three of whom are appointed by the Governor and two of whom are appointed by the General Assembly. Of the two appointments by the General Assembly, one shall be made upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the other shall be made upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. The terms of the members appointed by the Governor and of the member appointed upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate are for four years. Of the members appointed for four year terms, two expire on June 30 of each odd numbered year. The term of the member appointed upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives is for two years and it expires on June 30 of each odd numbered year are for four years and expire on June 30. The General Assembly shall make its appointments in accordance with G.S. 120-121 and shall fill a vacancy in accordance with G.S. 120-122. A vacancy occurs on the Commission when a member resigns, is removed, or dies. The person appointed to fill a vacancy shall serve for the balance of the unexpired term. The Governor may remove any member for misfeasance, malfeasance, or nonfeasance.

The Commission shall have a chair and a vice-chair. The Governor shall designate one of the Commission members as the chair, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The members of the Commission shall elect a vice-chair from among its membership. The vice chair serves until the member's regularly appointed term expires."

The vice-chair serves until the member's regularly appointed term expires."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law and applies to

appointments made after July 1, 2007.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 17<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2007.

- s/ Beverly E. Perdue President of the Senate
- s/ Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives
- s/ Michael F. Easley Governor