## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

Η

## HOUSE DRH50880-LL-317A (05/09)

Short Title:	Divide District Court District 19B.
billort ritio.	Divide District Court District 17D.

Sponsors:	Representative Boylan.
Referred to:	

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT TO DIVIDE DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 19B INTO DISTRICTS 19B AND 19D. The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten: "(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:			
9 10	District	Judges	County	
10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22	1	5 4	Camden Chowan Currituck Dare Gates Pasquotank Perquimans Martin Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde	
23 24 25 26 27	3A 3B	5 6	Washington Pitt Craven Pamlico Carteret	

D

(Public)

G	eneral Assembly	of North Carolina	Session 200
	4	8	Sampson
			Duplin
			Jones
			Onslow
	5	9	NewHanover
			Pender
	6A	3	Halifax
	6B	3	Northampton
			Bertie
			Hertford
	7	7	Nash
	,	,	Edgecombe
			Wilson
	8	6	Wayne
	0	0	Greene
			Lenoir
	9	4	Granville
		-	(partofVance
			seesubsection(b))
			Franklin
	9A	2	Person
	9A	2	Caswell
	0D	2	Warren
	9B	Z	
			(part of Vance see
	10	10	subsection(b))
	10	18	Wake
	11	10	Harnett
			Johnston
	10	10	Lee
	12	10	Cumberland
	13	6	Bladen
			Brunswick
			Columbus
	14	7	Durham
	15A	4	Alamance
	15B	5	Orange
			Chatham
	16A	3	Scotland
			Hoke
	16B	5	Robeson
	17A	3	Rockingham
	17B	4	Stokes
			Surry
	18	14	Guilford

G	eneral Assembly	of North Carolina	Session 200
	19A	4	Cabarrus
2	19B	7 <u>5</u>	Montgomery
3		—	Moore
ŀ			Randolph
5	19C	5	Rowan
5	<u>19D</u>	5 <u>3</u> 4	Moore
7	$\frac{1}{20A}$	$\frac{\underline{a}}{4}$	Stanly
8	_011		Anson
)			Richmond
)	20B	1	(part of Union
-	200	Ĩ	see subsection(b))
2	20C	2	(part of Union
3	200	2	see subsection(b))
, 	20D	1	Union
	201	10	Forsyth
, 5	21 22A	5	Alexander
) 7	$22\mathbf{A}$	5	Iredell
8	22B	E	Davidson
	ZZD	6	
)	22	1	Davie
)	23	4	Alleghany
-			Ashe
2			Wilkes
3	24	4	Yadkin
Ļ	24	4	Avery
5			Madison
5			Mitchell
1			Watauga
8		_	Yancey
)	25	9	Burke
)			Caldwell
-			Catawba
2	26	20	Mecklenburg
3	27A	7	Gaston
ļ	27B	5	Cleveland
5			Lincoln
<b>5</b>	28	7	Buncombe
7	29A	3	McDowell
8			Rutherford
)	29B	4	Henderson
)			Polk
			Transylvania
)	30	6	Cherokee
3			Clay
			Graham

Haywood Jackson Macon Swain."

5 **SECTION 2.** The district court judgeships established for District Court 6 District 19B by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the district court judges currently 7 serving District Court District 19B who reside in Montgomery and Randolph Counties. 8 The district court judgeships established for District Court District 19D by Section 1 of 9 this act shall be filled by the district court judges currently serving District Court 10 District 19B who reside in Moore County.

11 The terms of four of those judges expire December 31, 2010. Those judges' 12 successors shall be elected in the 2010 election. The terms of the other three judges 13 expire December 31, 2012. Those judges' successors shall be elected in the 2012 14 election.

15 **SECTION 3.** If Judge Neely's open seat is filled in the 2008 election by a 16 resident of Moore County, the Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge 17 authorized by Section 1 of this act to serve District 19B. If Judge Neely's seat is filled 18 by a resident of Randolph County, the Governor shall appoint the additional district 19 court judge authorized by Section 1 of this act to serve District 19D. The appointed 20 judge shall serve a term expiring December 31, 2010, and the judge's successor shall be 21 elected in the 2010 general election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2011.

SECTION 4. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial
Department the sum of two hundred sixty-one thousand six hundred sixty-four dollars
(\$261,664) for the 2008-2009 fiscal year to implement the provisions of this act.

25

1

2

3

4

**SECTION 5.** This act becomes effective January 15, 2009.