GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

SESSION LAW 2008-24 SENATE BILL 1648

AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWNS OF MIDDLESEX AND NASHVILLE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

"(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the

annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Green Level, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30th day of June, 2008.

- s/ Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate
- s/ Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives