GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

S SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION DRSJR55173-LG-297 (02/28)

Sponsors:	Senator Smith.
Referred to:	

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE WAKE FOREST UNIVERSITY FOOTBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE 2006 ATLANTIC COAST CONFERENCE CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, on December 2, 2006, Wake Forest University's football team won the 2006 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) championship, defeating Georgia Tech by a score of 9-6 in Jacksonville, Florida; and

Whereas, this victory earned Wake Forest a berth in the Bowl Championship Series and a bid to the 2007 FedEx Orange Bowl; and

Whereas, Wake Forest was the first team from North Carolina to earn a berth in one of the top five bowls (Orange, Fiesta, Rose, Sugar, and Cotton) since 1961; and

Whereas, this championship gave Wake Forest its second ACC title, having won its first title in 1970; and

Whereas, Wake Forest finished the 2006 football season with an 11-3 record, shattering the previous school record of eight wins captured in 1944, 1979, and 1992; and

Whereas, Wake Forest's five wins in September 2006 marked the most victories in any month of the year in Demon Deacon football history; and

Whereas, Wake Forest won six ACC games for the first time in school history and won the ACC's Atlantic Division after being picked to finish last by the league's media in the preseason; and

Whereas, Wake Forest was the most improved team in America, based upon win differential; and

Whereas, Wake Forest was the first team in ACC history (out of 113) to go 6-9 in true road games; and

Whereas, Wake Forest swept its ACC Tobacco Road rivals – Duke University, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and North Carolina State University – for the first time since 1987; and

27

28

1 Whereas, Wake Forest shut out Florida State University in Tallahassee for the 2 first time since 1959, snapping a 17-game losing streak; and 3 Whereas, Wake Forest was ranked in the top 25 for eight straight weeks; and 4 Whereas, head coach Jim Grobe was voted the National Coach of the Year by 5 the Associated Press, American Football Coaches Association, the Bobby Dodd 6 Foundation, and other media outlets; and 7 Whereas, sophomore placekicker Sam Swank and senior offensive tackle 8 Steve Vallos were chosen as first team All-Americans; and 9 Whereas, junior linebacker Jon Abbate and senior safety Josh Gattis were 10 named honorable mention All-Americans; and 11 Whereas, freshman quarterback Riley Skinner was voted the ACC's Rookie 12 of the Year; and 13 Whereas, eight Wake Forest players earned All-ACC recognition from the 14 league's voting body; and 15 Whereas, the entire football team and staff deserve recognition and 16 congratulations for winning an ACC Championship and a berth in the FedEx Orange Bowl, which has brought great honor and distinction to the State; Now, therefore. 17 18 Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring: 19 SECTION 1. The General Assembly congratulates the Wake Forest 20 University football team on winning the 2006 Atlantic Coast Conference Championship 21 and recognizes the achievements of the players, coaches, students, alumni, and support 22 staff who were instrumental in helping the football team have a successful 2006 season. 23 **SECTION 2.** The General Assembly honors the Wake Forest University's 24 football team, a North Carolina institution. 25 **SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a copy of this resolution 26 to Wake Forest University President Nathan O. Hatch, Athletics Director Ron Wellman,

and Head Coach Jim Grobe. **SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.

Page 2 S499 [Filed]