GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

Η

HOUSE BILL 1673 Committee Substitute Favorable 5/25/10 Third Edition Engrossed 6/10/10

	Short Title: Municipal Tax Certification. (Local)
	Sponsors:
	Referred to:
	May 13, 2010
1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO HELP MUNICIPALITIES COLLECT DELINQUENT PROPERTY TAXES.
3	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
4	SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31 reads as rewritten:
5	"§ 161-31. Tax certification.
6	(a) Tax Certification. – The board of commissioners of a county may, by resolution,
7	require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property for registration
8	unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valorem county taxes, ad
9	valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the
10	property described in the deed. all of the following:
11	(1) That no delinquent ad valorem county taxes are a lien on the property
12	described in the deed.
13	(2) That no delinquent ad valorem municipal taxes are a lien on the property
14	described in the deed. If a county tax collector is not charged with collecting
15	ad valorem municipal taxes for a municipality in the county, then the
16	resolution shall direct how the county tax collector is to receive the
17	certification from the tax collector charged with collecting ad valorem
18	municipal taxes.
19	(3) That no other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the
20	property described in the deed.
21	The county commissioners may describe the form the certification must take in its
22	resolution.
23	(a1) Exception to Tax Certification If a board of county commissioners adopts a
24	resolution pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, notwithstanding the resolution, the register
25	of deeds shall accept without certification a deed submitted for registration under the
26	supervision of a closing attorney and containing this statement on the deed: "This instrument
27	prepared by:, a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent taxes, if any, to be
28	paid by the closing attorney to the county tax collector upon disbursement of closing proceeds.
29	(b) Applicability. – This section applies only to Alexander, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie,
30	Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland,
31	Currituck, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham,
32	Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson,
33	Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, Montgomery, Nash,
34	Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson,



General Assembly Of North Carolina Session 2009

- Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, 1 2 3 Washington, Wayne, Wilson, and Yadkin Counties."
 - **SECTION 2.** This act applies to Duplin County only.
- 4 **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.