GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

HOUSE BILL 1893 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO ESTABLISH A SEASON FOR TAKING FOXES BY TRAPPING WITH CAGE TRAPS IN WINSTON-SALEM; TO AMEND THE LAW AUTHORIZING THE TRAPPING AND SALE OF FOXES IN ASHE COUNTY AND TO REMOVE THE SUNSET ON THAT LAW; AND TO REPEAL AND AMEND CERTAIN LOCAL ACTS WITH RESPECT TO HUNTING IN GREENE COUNTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1.(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, there is an open season for taking foxes by trapping with cage traps only during the trapping season set by the Wildlife Resources Commission each year, with no tagging requirements prior to or after sale.

SECTION 1.(b) No bag limit applies to foxes taken under this act.

SECTION 1.(c) This section applies only to Winston-Salem.

SECTION 2. S.L. 2007-51 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, there is an open season for taking foxes by trapping from November 7 November 1 through February 12 February 28 of each year. During this season, all leghold traps set on dry land with solid anchor shall have at least three swivels in the trap chain, and no leghold traps larger than size one and one-half may be used.

"SECTION 2. A season bag limit of 10 applies in the aggregate to all foxes taken during the trapping season established in this act.

"SECTION 3. The Wildlife Resources Commission shall provide for the sale of foxes taken lawfully pursuant to this act and pursuant to former G.S. 113-111, as retained to the extent of its application to Ashe County pursuant to G.S. 113-133.1(e).

"**SECTION 4.** This act applies only to Ashe County.

"SECTION 5. This act becomes effective October 1, 2007, and expires on September 30, 2010. October 1, 2007."

SECTION 3.(a) Section 3 of S.L. 1975-219 and Section 1 of S.L. 1987-132 are repealed.

SECTION 3.(b) Section 4 of S.L. 1985-471 reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 4. This act applies only to Greene and Nash Counties. County."

SECTION 4. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 9th day of July, 2010.

Walter H. Dalton
President of the Senate

Joe Hackney
Speaker of the House of Representatives

