GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009 RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 2010-27 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 2081

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE ONE HUNDREDTH ANNIVERSARY OF THE ALBEMARLE ELECTRIC SYSTEM.

Whereas, on July 27, 1909, the citizens of the City of Albemarle voted in favor of a \$10,000 electric light bond referendum; and

Whereas, on March 1, 1910, dedicated leaders of the City of Albemarle, including Mayor I. B. Miller and Board of City Commissioners L. A. Moody, F. E. Starnes, R. A. Crowell, J. A. Groves, and F. V. Watkins, awarded a construction contract for an electric system; and

Whereas, by March 18, 1910, the City of Albemarle had approved a contract with Southern Power Company for electric power; and

Whereas, on January 20, 1938, the City of Albemarle approved a contract with Duke Power Company for purchase of electric power; and

Whereas, in 1978, Duke Power Company sold 75% of its interest in Catawba Nuclear Station to the City of Albemarle and 18 other municipalities, allowing for the creation of the North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number 1, which provides power to all of the

Whereas, in 2007, Albemarle received American Public Power Association Reliable Public Power Provider Gold Designation and two years later received the American Public Power Association Reliable Public Power Provider Platinum Designation; and

Whereas, the City of Albemarle currently provides reliable and efficient electric service to more than 11,000 customers; and

Whereas, the Albemarle Electric System's 100th anniversary is worthy of recognition; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly extends its congratulations to the Albemarle Electric System on its 100th anniversary.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly honors the memory of those who were

instrumental in establishing the Albemarle Electric System in 1910.

SECTION 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to Mayor Elbert L. "Whit" Whitley, Jr.



SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 8th day of July, 2010.

Walter H. Dalton
President of the Senate

Joe Hackney
Speaker of the House of Representatives