S

1 2

Sponsors:	Senator Jones.
Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate.

April 28, 2009

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF HERTFORD COUNTY ON THE OCCASION OF THE COUNTY'S TWO HUNDRED FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, Hertford County was formed from Chowan, Bertie, and Northampton Counties by an act of the State legislature in 1759; and

Whereas, Hertford County was named in honor of Francis Seymour Conway (1715-1794), Marquis of Hertford, a distinguished member of the British parliament and a soldier; and

Whereas, the Town of Winton, originally known as Wynnton and laid out on land donated by Representative Benjamin Wynns, was established as the county seat in 1766; and

Whereas, Hertford County's other municipalities include Ahoskie, Cofield, Como, Harrellsville, and Murfreesboro; and

Whereas, some of Hertford County's native sons include Richard J. Gatling, inventor of the Gatling gun and numerous agricultural implements, who was born on September 12, 1818; and Robert L. Vann, a lawyer and politician, who became the editor-publisher of the Pittsburgh Courier, the most widely read Black-owned newspaper in the nation at that time, and who was born on August 27, 1879; and

Whereas, many of Hertford County's residents resolved to educate the citizens of the County by establishing Chowan University, founded in 1848 in Murfreesboro as Chowan Baptist Female Institute; and

Whereas, Dr. Calvin Scott Brown, a Shaw University graduate, moved to Hertford County in 1883 to serve as the minister of the Pleasant Baptist Church and later established a facility to educate African-Americans known as Chowan Academy (1886-1893), which graduated its first class in 1890 and was later known as the C. S. Brown School; and

Whereas, Hertford County has a rich Native American culture from contributions of the Chowan, Meherrin, and Nottoway tribes; and

Whereas, a number of rivers and creeks that run through Hertford County along with several other places have names that were influenced by Native Americans in the area, including the Chowan, Meherrin, and Wiccacon Rivers, Potecasi Creek, and the Town of Ahoskie; and

Whereas, Hertford County served as the birthplace of the National 4-H Club, which formed in Ahoskie and was originally called the "Corn Club"; and

Whereas, Hertford County has contributed to the social, economic, cultural, and political prosperity of the State of North Carolina; and

Whereas, Hertford County has continued to grow and prosper through the continued dedication, insight, and planning of the County's concerned leaders and citizens; and

Whereas, Hertford County has a population of 23,730 people; and



1	
2	
3	

4

5

Whereas, plans have been made to celebrate the County's $250^{\rm th}$ historic anniversary throughout the year; and

throughout the year Wherea

Whereas, this occasion is worthy of celebration and should be enjoyed and supported by all North Carolinians; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

6 7 8 **SECTION 1.** The General Assembly honors the founders of Hertford County and encourages the citizens of this State to join Hertford County in demonstrating respect for their history and heritage during the County's 250^{th} anniversary.

9

SECTION 2. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Chair of the Hertford County Board of Commissioners.

9 10 11

SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon ratification.