## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

S 1 **SENATE BILL 857** 

Short Title:	Add Stokes Cty to Tax Cert Before Recordation.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senator East.	
Referred to:	State and Local Government.	

May 23, 2012

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 2 AN ACT TO AUTHORIZE STOKES COUNTY TO REQUIRE THE PAYMENT OF 3 DELINOUENT PROPERTY TAXES BEFORE RECORDING DEEDS CONVEYING 4 PROPERTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 161-31 reads as rewritten:

## "§ 161-31. Tax certification.

5

6

7

8

9 10

11 12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19

20

21

22 23

24

25

29

- Tax Certification. The board of commissioners of a county may, by resolution, require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property for registration unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valorem county taxes, ad valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the property described in the deed. The county commissioners may describe the form the certification must take in its resolution.
- Exception to Tax Certification. If a board of county commissioners adopts a resolution pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, notwithstanding the resolution, the register of deeds shall accept without certification a deed submitted for registration under the supervision of a closing attorney and containing this statement on the deed: "This instrument prepared by: , a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent taxes, if any, to be paid by the closing attorney to the county tax collector upon disbursement of closing proceeds."
- Applicability. This section applies only to Alamance, Alexander, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes,
- 26
- Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson, Yadkin, and 27

Yancey Counties." 28

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

