## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

Η

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION DRHJR80033-LG-21A\* (01/24)

Sponsors:	Representative West.
Referred to:	

1	A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE TOWN OF
2	HAYESVILLE.
3	Whereas, Hayesville started as a hilltop village nestled between the mountains and
4	valleys of Clay County; and
5	Whereas, Hayesville was named for George Washington Hayes, a former member
6	of the General Assembly, who was instrumental in the formation of Clay County in 1861; and
7	Whereas, Hayesville was incorporated by an act of the General Assembly in March,
8	1913; and
9	Whereas, Hayesville's first officers included Mayor S.E. Hogsed; Commissioners
10	P.N. Tiger, John O. Scroggs, and Early Anderson; and Marshal Frank McClure; and
11	Whereas, Hayesville now serves as the county seat of Clay County; and
12	Whereas, the citizens of Hayesville have contributed to the social, cultural, political,
13	and economic prosperity of the State of North Carolina; and
14	Whereas, 2013 marks the 100th anniversary of the Town of Hayesville, which will
15	be celebrated with events sponsored by both local government and community organizations
16	working together to recognize key moments, businesses, and people that have impacted the
17	Town; and
18	Whereas, the citizens of Hayesville hope the Town's future will be built on the
19	success of their past values and continued commitment to working together; Now, therefore,
20	Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:
21	<b>SECTION 1.</b> The General Assembly honors the memory of the early founders of
22	the Town of Hayesville, including George Washington Hayes, and honors the Town on its
23	100th anniversary.
24	SECTION 2. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this
25	resolution to the Mayor of the Town of Hayesville.
26	<b>SECTION 3.</b> This resolution is effective upon ratification.

