S SENATE BILL 56

Short Title:	Wallace/Satellite Annexations.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senator Jackson (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:	State and Local Government.	

February 6, 2013 1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT AMENDING A LOCAL ACT FOR THE TOWN OF WALLACE THAT 3 REMOVED CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE 4 TOWN. 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 6 **SECTION 1.** S.L. 2012-118 reads as rewritten: 7 "SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten: 8 A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following 9 standards: 10 The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more (1) than three miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. 11 12 No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the (2) primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits 13 of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this section. 14 The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to provide 15 (3) the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it 16 17 provides within its primary corporate limits. Repealed. 18 (4) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the 19 (5) area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent 20 (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. 21 This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont, 22 23 Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, 24 Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, 25 Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, 26 Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, 27 Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four 28 29 Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Huntersville, Jamestown, 30 Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, 31 32 Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville,



Ranlo,

33

34

35

Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level,

Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville,

Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton,

"SECTION 3. This act applies to the Town of Wallace only."
SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

1

2

3

4

5

6

Page 2 S56 [Edition 1]