GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

SENATE BILL 56 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT AMENDING A LOCAL ACT FOR THE TOWN OF WALLACE THAT REMOVED CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. S.L. 2012-118 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

- (1) The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more than three miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
- (2) No point on the proposed satellite corporate limits may be closer to the primary corporate limits of another city than to the primary corporate limits of the annexing city, except as set forth in subsection (b2) of this section.
- (3) The area must be so situated that the annexing city will be able to provide the same services within the proposed satellite corporate limits that it provides within its primary corporate limits.
- (4) Repealed.
- (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

"**SECTION 2.** This act applies only to the annexation of the property on which the Vidant Family Medicine facility is located.

"SECTION 3. This act applies to the Town of Wallace only."



SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 24th day of April,

2013.

s/ Daniel J. Forest President of the Senate

s/ Thom Tillis Speaker of the House of Representatives