# GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

### HOUSE BILL 892 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE.

Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate; and

Whereas, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate have made recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

#### PART I. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS

**SECTION 1.1.** Effective January 15, 2015, the Honorable Charles Travis, III, of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the North Carolina Turnpike Authority for a term expiring on January 14, 2019.

**SECTION 1.2.** John D. "JD" Solomon of Johnston County is appointed to the Environmental Management Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2017, to fill the unexpired term of Benne C. Hutson.

**SECTION 1.3.(a)** Representative Dan Bishop of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force for a term expiring on June 30, 2015, to fill the unexpired term of Tom Murry.

**SECTION 1.3.(b)** Representative Larry Yarborough of Person County is appointed to the Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force for a term expiring on June 30, 2015, to fill the unexpired term of Mark Hollo.

## PART II. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS.

**SECTION 2.1.(a)** Daniel J. Zeller of Guilford County is appointed to the State Ethics Commission for a term expiring on December 31, 2016, to fill the unexpired term of Francis X. DeLuca.

**SECTION 2.1.(b)** Effective January 1, 2015, Dr. Clarence G. Newsome of Mecklenburg County is reappointed to the State Ethics Commission for a term expiring on December 31, 2018.

**SECTION 2.2.(a)** James S. Stewart of Hoke County is appointed to the 911 Board for a term expiring on December 31, 2017.

**SECTION 2.2.(b)** Effective January 1, 2015, Jeffrey A. Shipp of Sampson County, Richard A. Edwards of Mecklenburg County, and Slayton S. Stewart of Forsyth County are appointed to the 911 Board for terms expiring on December 31, 2018.

#### PART III. EFFECTIVE DATE



**SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 28<sup>th</sup> day of May,

2015.

- s/ Daniel J. Forest President of the Senate
- s/ Tim Moore Speaker of the House of Representatives

Page 2 H892 [Ratified]