## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

S

FILED SENATE
May 31, 2018
<b>S.B. 797</b>
PRINCIPAL CLERK
D

## SENATE BILL DRS45555-ST-73

Short Title:	District Court 25 - Burke/Caldwell/Catawba.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Senator Daniel (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:		

$\frac{1}{2}$	AN ACT TO ALIO	A BILL TO BE EN GN THE DISTRICT COURT A	TITLED ND PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICTS TO
3	THE SUPERIO	R COURT DISTRICTS IN DIST	RICT 25.
4	The General Assem	bly of North Carolina enacts:	
5	SECTIO	<b>DN 1.(a)</b> G.S. 7A-133 reads as re-	written:
6	"§ 7A-133. Numbe	ers of judges by districts; numbe	ers of magistrates and additional seats of
7	court, b	y counties.	-
8	(a) Each dia	strict court district shall have th	e numbers of judges as set forth in the
9	following table:		
10	District	Judges	County
11 12	1	5	Camden
13			Chowan
14			Currituck
15			Dare
16			Gates
17			Pasquotank
18			Perquimans
19	2	4	Martin
20			Beaufort
21			Tyrrell
22			Hyde
23			Washington
24	3A	5	Pitt
25	3B	6	Craven
26			Pamlico
27			Carteret
28	4	8	Sampson
29			Duplin
30			Jones
31			Onslow
32	5	9	New Hanover
33			Pender
34	6	4	Northampton
35			Bertie
36			Hertford



	General Assembly Of North Carolina		Session 2017	
1			Halifax	
2	7	7	Nash	
3			Edgecombe	
4			Wilson	
5	8	6	Wayne	
6			Greene	
7			Lenoir	
8	9	5	Granville	
9			(part of Vance	
10			see subsection (b))	
11			Franklin	
12			Person	
13	9B	2	Warren	
14		_	(part of Vance	
15			see subsection (b))	
16	10	19	Wake	
10	10	11	Harnett	
18	11	11	Johnston	
10			Lee	
20	12	10	Cumberland	
20 21	12	10 6	Bladen	
21	15	0	Brunswick	
23	14	7	Columbus	
24	14	7	Durham	
25	15A	4	Alamance	
26	15B	5	Orange	
27	164		Chatham	
28	16A	6	Scotland	
29			Hoke	
30			Anson	
31	1.00	-	Richmond	
32	16B	5	Robeson	
33	17A	4	Caswell	
34			Rockingham	
35	17B	4	Stokes	
36			Surry	
37	18	14	Guilford	
38	19A	5	Cabarrus	
39	19B	7	Montgomery	
40			Moore	
41			Randolph	
42	19C	5	Rowan	
43	20A	2	Stanly	
44	20B	1	(part of Union	
45			see subsection (b))	
46	20C	2	(part of Union	
47			see subsection (b))	
48	20D	1	Union	
49	21	11	Forsyth	
50	22A	5	Alexander	
51			Iredell	

G	General Assembly Of	North Carolina	Session 201'
	22B	6	Davidson
			Davie
	23	4	Alleghany
			Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
			Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	<del>25</del> 25A	<u>92</u>	Burke
		_	Caldwell
	<u>25B</u>	<u>8</u>	Catawba
	26	21	Mecklenburg
	27A	7	Gaston
	27B	6	Cleveland
			Lincoln
	28	7	Buncombe
	29A	3	McDowell
			Rutherford
	29B	4	Henderson
			Polk
			Transylvania
	30	6	Cherokee
			Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon
			Swain.
	SECTION	<b>1.(b)</b> Notwithstanding G	.S. 7A-133(a), upon each of the first three
d	istrict court judgesh	ip vacancies occurring in	District Court District 25B due to deat
	0	1	o is a resident of Catawba County holding
jι	udgeship on the effec	tive date of this section shal	l be filled according to law. However, at th
n	ext general election h	eld for that judgeship, only p	persons who reside in District 25A, as enacted
b	by this act, may be candidates for that district court judgeship and any primary associated with		
tł	nat general election sh	all also be held accordingly	
	SECTION	<b>1.(c)</b> Upon each of the f	irst three district court judgeship vacancie
	-		leath, resignation, removal, or retirement of
р	erson who is a reside	ent of Catawba County hold	ing a judgeship on the effective date of th
Se	ection the Director o	f the Administrative Office	of the Courts shall provide written notice of

43 section, the Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts shall provide written notice of 44 the vacancy to the State Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement and to the Revisor of 45 Statutes. The State Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement shall ensure that only persons 46 who reside in District Court District 25A, as enacted by this act, may file as candidates for the 47 judgeship at the next general election held for that judgeship. The Revisor of Statutes shall revise 48 the language of G.S. 7A-133(a) to reflect the changed number of judges in Districts 25A and 49 25B.

50 **SECTION 1.(d)** On January 15, 2030, if the provisions of this section have not 51 resulted in the modification of G.S. 7A-133(a) to reflect that five judges each serve in Districts

	General Assembly Of No	orth Carolina	Session 2017
1 2 3		d by this act, the Revisor of Statutes s et and the elections of 2030 shall be held in	
4		e) The additional judge in District 25A,	as established by subsection
5		ake office on January 1, 2021, with an	•
6	accordingly.		
7	SECTION 2.(a	a) G.S. 7A-60 reads as rewritten:	
8	"§ 7A-60. District attorn	eys and prosecutorial districts.	
9		be divided into prosecutorial districts, as	shown in subsection (a1) of
10		be a district attorney for each prosecuto	
11		this section who shall be a resident of	
12	which elected. A vacancy	in the office of district attorney shall be	filled as provided in Article
13	IV, Sec. 19 of the Constitu	ition.	
14			
15		uary 1, 2019) The counties of the State are	• •
16		has the counties and the number of full-tin	ne assistant district attorneys
17	set forth in the following t	able:	
18			No. of Full-Time
19	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
20	District	Counties	Attorneys
21	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11
22		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
23	2	Perquimans	2
24	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	8
25	2	Tyrrell, Washington	12
26	3	Pitt	12
27	4	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	13
28	5	Duplin, Jones, Onslow, Sampson	19
29 20	6	New Hanover, Pender	19
30 21	7	Bertie, Halifax, Hertford,	11
31 32	8	Northampton Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	19
32 33	9	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	19
33 34	10	Franklin, Granville, Person	13
35	10	Vance, Warren	15
36	11	Wake	42
37	12	Harnett, Lee	12
38	13	Johnston	10
39	14	Cumberland	25
40	15	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	14
41	16	Durham	18
42	17	Alamance	12
43	18	Orange, Chatham	10
44	19	Scotland, Hoke	7
45	20	Robeson	12
46	21	Anson, Richmond	6
47	22	Caswell, Rockingham	10
48	23	Stokes, Surry	8
49	24	Guilford	34
50	25	Cabarrus	9
51	26	Montgomery, Randolph	10

General Assembly C	Session 2017	
27	Rowan	9
28	Moore	5
29	Stanly	5
30	Union	11
31	Forsyth	27
32	Alexander, Iredell	12
33	Davidson, Davie	12
34	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes, Yadkin	9
35	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	8
	Watauga, Yancey	
<del>36</del>	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	<del>19</del>
<u>36A</u>	Burke, Caldwell	<u>10</u>
<u>36B</u>	Catawba	$\frac{10}{9}$ 58
37	Mecklenburg	58
38	Gaston	15
39	Cleveland, Lincoln	12
40	Buncombe	14
41	McDowell, Rutherford	8
42	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	9
43	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	12
	Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain.	
"		
SECTION	<b>N 2.(b)</b> This section becomes effective January 1, 2	023, with an election in
2022 to be held accor	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
	<b>N 3.</b> Except as otherwise provided, this act is effe	ective when it become
law.		