GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

H

1 2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10 11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21 22

2324

25

26

27

Simple Resolution Adopted

HOUSE RESOLUTION 1784 Adopted 8/26/02

Sponsors: Representatives Weiss, Miner, and Gibson.

Referred to:

August 26, 2002

A HOUSE RESOLUTION HONORING THE CAROLINA COURAGE WOMEN'S SOCCER TEAM.

Whereas, the 2002 Carolina Courage won the Women's United Soccer Association (WUSA) national championship Founders Cup II on Saturday, August 24, 2002; and

Whereas, the Carolina Courage also claimed the WUSA 2002 regular season title; and

Whereas, the Carolina Courage had an outstanding season, setting the WUSA league records for the most wins and points, and tying the league record for goals scored; and

Whereas, the Carolina Courage also earned individual awards this season, including WUSA Goalkeeper of the Year (Kristin Luckenbill); WUSA Defender of the Year (Danielle Slaton); and Most Valuable Player of the WUSA Championship Game (Birgit Prinz); and

Whereas, team members Kristin Luckenbill, Birgit Prinz, Hege Riise, Danielle Slaton, and Danielle Fotopoulos were selected as members of All WUSA Teams; and

Whereas, the accomplishments of the Carolina Courage brought great honor and distinction to the State of North Carolina and helped generate an enormous amount of interest in the State in professional soccer; and

Whereas, the members of the Carolina Courage should also be commended for being active participants in the community and serving as role models for children across the State and nation; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives:

SECTION 1. The House of Representatives expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people of this State to the Carolina Courage soccer team on winning the 2002 WUSA national championship.

1	SECTION 2. The House of Representatives recognizes the achievements of
2	the Carolina Courage team: players Meghan Anderson, Katie Barnes, Erin Baxter, Staci
3	Burt, Nel Fettig, Danielle Fotopoulos, Tracy Grose, Venus James, Unni Lehn, Kristin
4	Luckenbill, Brooke O'Hanley, Emily Oleksiuk, Carla Overbeck, Julie Podhrasky, Birgit
5	Prinz, Hege Riise, Tiffany Roberts, Stacy Roeck, Danielle Slaton, Staci Wilson, and
6	Kim Yankowski; head coach Marcia McDermott; assistant coach Susan Ellis;
7	goalkeeper coach Scott Calabrese; strength and conditioning coach Ann Hacker; head
8	trainer Cody Malley; and other members of the Carolina Courage Organization.
9	SECTION 3. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this
10	resolution to Coach Marcia McDermott and President Jerome Ramsey.
11	SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon adoption.