SESSION LAW 2003-426




AN ACT adopting the carolina lily as the official wildflower of north carolina.

Whereas, North Carolina is blessed with an abundance of wildflowers from the mountains to the coast; and

Whereas, the Carolina Lily is a scarce and beautiful flower that is found throughout North Carolina in upland pine-oak woods and pocosins; and

Whereas, the Carolina Lily (Lilium michauxii) is one of many plants named for the distinguished French botanist Andre Michaux who traveled widely in the southeastern United States; and

Whereas, Andre Michaux (1747-1802), a genuine hero of science and exploration, referred to the North Carolina mountains as "the great botanical laboratory and paradise of North America"; and

Whereas, the Carolina Lily, sometimes referred to as Michaux's Lily, bears up to six reddish-yellow, spotted flowers with petals that bend backwards; and

Whereas, each nodding flower grows to about three inches in diameter; and

Whereas, this magnificent flower bears the name of our great State; and

Whereas, the State of North Carolina does not have an official wildflower; Now, therefore,


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  Chapter 145 of the General Statutes is amended by adding a new section to read:

" 145-19.  State wildflower.

The Carolina Lily (Lilium michauxii) is adopted as the official wildflower of the State of North Carolina."

SECTION 2.  The title of Chapter 145 of the General Statutes reads as rewritten:

"Chapter 145.

State Flower, Bird, Tree, Shell, Mammal, Fish, Insect, Stone, Reptile and Rock, Beverage, Historical Boat, Language, Dog, Military Academy, Tartan, Watermelon Festival, Symbols and Other Official Adoptions."


SECTION 3.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 10th day of July, 2003.



                                                                    s/ Beverly E. Perdue

                                                                         President of the Senate



                                                                    s/ Richard T. Morgan

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/ Michael F. Easley




Approved 10:44 a.m. this 19th day of August, 2003