AN ACT to adjust the uniform fee for recording deeds of trust with the register of deeds in order to comply with closing disclosure requirements established by the federal truth in lending and real estate settlement procedures acts.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  G.S. 161‑10(a) reads as rewritten:

"§ 161‑10.  Uniform fees of registers of deeds.

(a)        Except as otherwise provided in this Article, all fees collected under this section shall be deposited into the county general fund. While performing the duties of the office, the register of deeds shall collect the following fees which shall be uniform throughout the State:


(1a)      Deeds of Trust, Mortgages, and Cancellation of Deeds of Trust and Mortgages. – For registering or filing any deed of trust or mortgage, whether written, printed, or typewritten, mortgage the fee shall be fifty‑six sixty‑four dollars ($56.00) ($64.00) for the first 15 35 pages plus four dollars ($4.00) for each additional page or fraction thereof.

      When a deed of trust or mortgage is presented for registration that contains one or more additional instruments, the fee shall be ten dollars ($10.00) for each additional instrument. A deed of trust or mortgage contains one or more additional instruments if such additional instrument or instruments has or have different legal consequences or intent, each of which is separately executed and acknowledged and could be recorded alone.

      For recording records of satisfaction, or the cancellation of record by any other means, of deeds of trust or mortgages, there shall be no fee.


SECTION 2.  This act becomes effective October 1, 2016.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 27th day of June, 2016.



                                                                    s/  Daniel J. Forest

                                                                         President of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Tim Moore

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/  Pat McCrory




Approved 9:14 a.m. this 30th day of June, 2016