SESSION LAW 2017-111




AN ACT to clarify that medical certification and recertification requirements for handicapped parking privileges may be satisfied by CERTIFICATION OF A LICENSED PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT, A LICENSED NURSE PRACTITIONER, OR A LICENSED CERTIFIED NURSE MIDWIFE THAT THE PERSON IS HANDICAPPED.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  G.S. 20‑37.6(c1) reads as rewritten:

"(c1)    Application and Renewal; Physician's Medical Certification. – The initial application for a distinguishing license plate, removable windshield placard, or temporary removable windshield placard shall be accompanied by a certification of a licensed physician, a licensed ophthalmologist, a licensed optometrist, a licensed physician assistant, a licensed nurse practitioner, or the Division of Services for the Blind that the applicant is handicapped or by a disability determination by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs that the applicant is handicapped. For an initial application for a temporary removable windshield placard only, the certification that the applicant is handicapped may be made by a licensed certified nurse midwife. The application for a temporary removable windshield placard shall contain additional certification to include the period of time the certifying authority determines the applicant will have the disability. Distinguishing license plates shall be renewed annually, but subsequent applications shall not require a medical certification that the applicant is handicapped. Removable windshield placards shall be renewed every five years, and, except for a person certified as totally and permanently disabled at the time of the initial application or a prior renewal under this subsection, the renewal shall require a medical recertification that the person is handicapped. Temporary removable windshield placards shall expire no later than six months after issuance."

SECTION 2.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 27th day of June, 2017.



                                                                    s/  Daniel J. Forest

                                                                         President of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Tim Moore

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/  Roy Cooper




Approved 6:58 p.m. this 12th day of July, 2017