AN ACT to correct how the terms of board members are to expire due to transition of municipal elections to even‑numbered years in the town of oakboro.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  Section 15 of the Charter of the Town of Oakboro, being Chapter 51 of the Private Laws of 1915, as amended by ordinance adopted by the Town Board, and Section 7 of S.L. 2015‑253, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 15.  That the Mayor of the town of Oakboro shall hold office for the term of two years and until its successor is elected and qualified, except that in 2015, the Mayor elected shall serve a term of three years, but the Mayor's successors shall serve terms of two years. Those members of the Board who have the lowest total number of votes shall serve for a two‑year term. At the regular election held in 2011, and every four years thereafter, members of the Board who were elected for two‑year terms in the election of 2009, shall be elected to serve for a four‑year term. In 2015, three two members of the Board shall be elected for five‑year terms, and the two three members whose terms expire in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018. In 2020, and quadrennially thereafter, three two persons shall be elected to four‑year terms. In 2018, and quadrennially thereafter, two three persons shall be elected to four‑year terms. That in the absence of any officer of the town, or during sickness of any of the officers, the commissioners may appoint a man to fill the office during his absence or during his inability, and no longer. If the absence be caused by resignation, the board may appoint an officer to fill the unexpired term."

SECTION 2.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 27th day of June, 2017.



                                                                    s/  Daniel J. Forest

                                                                         President of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Tim Moore

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives