11-7.1. Who may administer oaths of office.

(a) Except as otherwise specifically required by statute, an oath of office may be administered by any of the following:

(1) A justice, judge, magistrate, clerk, assistant clerk, or deputy clerk of the General Court of Justice, a retired justice, judge, or clerk of the General Court of Justice, or any member of the federal judiciary.

(2) The Secretary of State.

(3) A notary public.

(4) A register of deeds.

(5) A mayor of any city, town, or incorporated village.

(5a) A chairman of the board of commissioners of any county.

(6) A member of the House of Representatives or Senate of the General Assembly.

(7) The clerk of any county, city, town or incorporated village.

(b) The administration of an oath by any judge of the Court of Appeals prior to March 7, 1969, is hereby validated. (1953, c. 23; 1969, c. 44, s. 25; c. 499; c. 713, s. 1; 1971, c. 381, s. 10; 1977, c. 344, s. 2; 1979, c. 757; 1981, c. 682, s. 2; 1983, c. 648, s. 1; 1995, c. 147, s. 1; 2019-243, s. 14.)