Article 4A.

Constitutional Amendments Publication Commission.

147-54.8. Constitutional Amendments Publication Commission.

(a) There is established within the Department of the Secretary of State the Constitutional Amendments Publication Commission (hereinafter "Commission").

(b) The Commission shall consist of three members who shall serve ex officio as follows: The Secretary of State, the Attorney General, and the Legislative Services Officer. (1983, c. 844, s. 1.)


147-54.9. Officers; meetings; quorum.

(a) The Secretary of State shall be the Chairman of the Commission.

(b) A quorum shall consist of all three members.

(c) The Commission shall meet on the call of the Chairman or any two members. (1983, c. 844, s. 1.)


147-54.10. Powers.

(a) At least 75 days before an election in which a proposed amendment to the Constitution, or a revised or new Constitution, is to be voted on, the Commission shall prepare an explanation of the amendment, revision, or new Constitution in simple and commonly used language.

(b) The summary prepared by the Commission shall be printed by the Secretary of State, in a quantity determined by the Secretary of State. A copy shall be sent along with a news release to each county board of elections, and a copy shall be available to any registered voter or representative of the print or broadcast media making request to the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State may make copies available in such additional manner as the Secretary may determine. (1983, c. 844, s. 1; 2016-109, s. 4(b); 2018-131, s. 2.)